Search This Blog

Statcounter




Friday, August 11, 2017

The Promise of Breeze Hill

The Promise of Breeze Hill by Pam Hillman

Book Description:
33107254Natchez, MS; 1791
Anxious for his brothers to join him on the rugged frontier along the Mississippi River, Connor O'Shea has no choice but to indenture himself as a carpenter in exchange for their passage from Ireland. But when he's sold to Isabella Bartholomew of Breeze Hill Plantation, Connor fears he'll repeat past mistakes and vows not to be tempted by the lovely lady.

The responsibilities of running Breeze Hill have fallen on Isabella's shoulders after her brother was found dead in the swamps along the Natchez Trace and a suspicious fire devastated their crops, almost destroyed their home, and left her father seriously injured. Even with Connor's help, Isabella fears she'll lose her family's plantation. Despite her growing feelings for the handsome Irish carpenter, she seriously considers accepting her wealthy and influential neighbor's proposal of marriage.

Soon, though, Connor realizes someone is out to eliminate the Bartholomew family. Can he set aside his own feelings to keep Isabella safe?
 (less)


My Opinion:
Good read.  I really wanted to read this one and was so happy I got the opportunity to.  Pam comes up with some of the best plots, and I've always enjoyed her writing.  The only thing that made this a good read instead of a GREAT read was simply because of some of the jumpiness of scenes and also a little too much kissing for me! LOL!  Now don't get me wrong I don't mind kissing scenes, and when they're done well I enjoy them!  But I just felt there were too many and some were at strange times, in my personal opinion. LOL!  I don't want to give anything away so I'll just say I wish some of the kisses were placed differently in the story or cut out all together.  The characters are great though, and I can't wait to read about Connor's other brothers!  Connor himself is a great character, though a bit on the stubborn side, though any Irish character worth his salt should be! ;)  And I both loved and got frustrated with Isabella.  Strong and capable one moment and a tad timid the next, there were scenes in this book that blew me away and I want to read them again and again!  I LOVE when Isabella was strong!  Then end felt a tad rushed to me, though I enjoyed how Pam brought everything together!  Overall it was a nice read and I'm enjoyed many aspects of Isabella and Connor's journey.
Songs: "He Leadeth Me" performed by The Cluster Pluckers, "Come To Jesus" by Chris Rice 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Tyndale for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Promise of Breeze Hill. ~ASC

Monday, July 31, 2017

The Captivating Lady Charlotte Review!!!!!!!

The Captivation Lady Charlotte by Carolyn Miller

Book Description:
32572319
Her heart is her own--but her hand in marriage is another matter

Lady Charlotte Featherington is destined for great things on the marriage market. After all, as the beautiful daughter of a marquess, she should have her pick of the eligible nobility hen she debuts. She, however, has love at the top of her list of marriageable attributes. And her romantic heart falls hard for one particularly dashing, attentive suitor. Sadly for Charlotte, her noble father intends her betrothed to be someone far more dull.

William Hartwell may be a duke, but he knows he was Charlotte's father's pick, not the young lady's own choice. And the captivating Lady Charlotte does not strike him as a woman who will be wooed by his wealth or title. While she has captured his heart, he has no idea how to win hers in return--and the betrayal and scandal his first wife put him through makes it difficult for him to believe that love can ever be trusted. His only hope is that Charlotte's sense of responsibility will win out over her romantic notions.

Can a widowed duke and a romantically inclined lady negotiate a future and discover love beyond duty? Will they be able to find healing and hope from the legacy of grace? Poignant and charming, this is another beautifully written, clean and wholesome Regency romance from Carolyn Miller


My Opinion:
LOVE IT!!!!!!!  Now, I absolutely LOVED the first in this series, The Elusive Miss Ellison, but I think The Captivating Lady Charlotte is EVEN BETTER!!!!!  Charlotte is one of my favorite characters and her story is just what it should be!  Entertaining, filled with adventure, and heart meltingly romantic! :)  Plus Lavinia and Nicholas are key characters in this one also!  I do feel that the book description doesn't fit the book very well, but the story is even better than I thought it would be.  I could read this book again and again!!!!  There's a little bit of everything: joy, mystique, sorrow, love, Faith, adventure, danger, and much more!  The pace is great, and that ending! :D  The end of this book is FANTASTIC and left me nearly on the edge of my seat!  A MUST READ, and I can't wait for the next one!

Songs: "Love Never Fails" by Brandon Heath, "He Leadeth Me" by The Cluster Pluckers, 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11, 2 Corinthians 

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Kregel for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Captivating Lady Charlotte. ~ASC

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Heart on the Line Review!!!!!

Heart on the Line by Karen Witemeyer

Book Description:
32510778Grace Mallory is tired of running, of hiding. But when an old friend sends an after-hours telegraph transmission warning Grace that the man who has hunted her for nearly a year has discovered her location, she fears she has no choice. She can't let the villain she believes responsible for her father's death release his wrath in Harper's Station, the town that has sheltered her and blessed her with the dearest friends she's ever known. 

Amos Bledsoe prefers bicycles to horses and private conversations over the telegraph wire to social gatherings with young ladies who see him as nothing more than an oddity. His telegraph companion, the mysterious Miss G, listens eagerly to his ramblings every night and delights him with tales all her own. For months, their friendship--dare he believe, courtship?--has fed his hope that he has finally found the woman God intended for him. Yet when he takes the next step to meet her in person, he discovers her life is in peril, and Amos must decide if he can shed the cocoon of his quiet nature to become the hero Grace requires. 

My Opinion:
LOVE IT!!!  I am a HUGE fan of Karen, and this just makes me love her books even more! :)  She weaves Faith and Love so beautifully!!!!  Heart on the Line is really two love stories in one, and I think I enjoyed the second characters story even more than Grace's!  From the beginning Karen grabs your attention as she sets the stage.  Then she proceeds to develop some of the most lovable and entertaining characters you will ever find!  I absolutely loved returning to Harper's Station and I can't wait to come again! ;)  The action scenes are fantastic and I truly love Grace as a character.  Beneath her shy exterior lies courage and a back bone of iron!  And Amos is a true gentleman!  I also loved the return of all my favorite characters, from Aunts Henry and Bertie to Emma, Malachi, Tori, and Ben.  But the secondary couple really stole the show for me.  I won't give anything away, but I've just got to say, I devoured every single scene about these two and would read this book over again for those scenes alone! ;)  Overall I dub this a MUST READ!  

The only thing I wish was different has more to do with the publisher than the author.  As anyone who knows me knows, ebooks and I do NOT get along.  And I missed out on Tori's story because it's ebook only. :/  Or so I thought!  I'm SO excited that Worth the Wait (aptly named is it not? ;) ) will be releasing in a novella collection next year (OH I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!).  I wish it had been published before Heart on the Line or that Worth the Wait had been published in the beginning of Heart on the Line.  Ok I'll get off my soap box now. ;)
Songs: "Even If" by MercyMe, "God gave me you" performed by Dave Barnes
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Galatians 5:1, Proverbs 13:12

~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Heart on the Line. ~ASC

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Author Interview with Beverly Nault!!!!!!!

Followers and Return Readers will remember Beverly Nault from me reviewing her books!
Well I am so happy to say SHE'S BACK and she's got a brand new book! :D

What inspired you to write Misdirect, a Novel of Spies, the Sahara, and Searching for God?  

I’m a fan of spy novels, and I have had a germ of a story about a mother-daughter relationship that started on a long car trip with my own daughter years ago. We brainstormed plots and characters, and that story was in the back of my mind started working on writing a spy story.

For the espionage angle, I had a lot of work to do because as I studied the craft, I realized their greatest strength is lying, or as they call it, “misdirecting” so that whatever they’re doing won’t be discovered until they can accomplish their objective. I studied spycraft, interviewed an intelligence expert about ISIS recruiting, read about the Sahara, and what it’s like to ride a camel. The desert part was pretty easy since I live in Southern California and we’re surrounded by them.

I wanted to include the reader in the misdirection to pull off a surprise twist at the end, so I had my work cut out for me. This probably took me the most amount of time making sure the details worked for the ending.

Is there a Bible verse that the story centers around?  

The plot itself can be defined by 2 Corinthians 4:18-

While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

because of what’s going on as far as the spy-craft, and the events that unfold. In a broader, more eternal application, it also applies because of how God works in our lives even when we don’t recognize his presence until all is revealed in His time.

What is you're favorite Bible verse right now?  

Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.” Colossians 2:8

This has been a scripture I’ve prayed for those who either muddy His truths, or downright choose to ignore Christ’s death and resurrection and believe falsehoods of man-made religions.  

Is this going to be the first in a series?

I don’t plan on a series, but I also wasn’t sure if I was ever going to accomplish this book until God kept prodding and equipping me, so I’ll just say, we shall see!

Is there anything else you want readers to know?

Eve, the main character in Misdirect, is a CIA analyst who’s been on desk duty after botching an op several years ago. When she’s thrown back into the field, she knows her tradecraft is rusty but she hits the ground running in the most important op in her career. While that storyline is exciting and important, her parallel storyline is also important because it reveals her walk with Christ, which has also grown rusty. When she encounters a young Muslim teen who challenges her beliefs, she has to sort out answers to his questions, and quickly brushes up on her own faith.

My hope with her story is that readers realize that even when we don’t feel our walk or answers are adequate, as Eve worried, God is still there for us. He can work through us, even in our inadequacies to reach others we meet along life’s paths, whether we’re in the Sahara on camel back, or chatting with a neighbor on our own street corner.

What are you working on next?

We’re hitting the road in our motor coach for a couple of years, so for the time being the only writing I’m planning will be updating my travel blog, http://flywiththenaults.blogspot.com. As I said, I don’t have plans for a sequel or another long novel, but you never know what God will prompt!

Thanks for having me!

Book Description:
A mission failure has confined CIA covert operative Eve Parker to desk duty and she’s left to pick up the pieces of her broken personal life. But when her daughter’s fiancĂ© is taken hostage, Eve must return to the Middle East armed with rusty tradecraft, and dubious credibility shrouded in her peers’ skepticism. Will she get it together in time to thwart the biggest threat to America since 9/11, or will her old-fashioned ways cause her to fail again?

And if a suspected mole, a missing thumb drive, and a camel ride through the desert weren’t challenging enough, a young Muslim boy with questions about God cause Eve to struggle with her own faith. As the most important assignment of her life draws near, events unfold to demonstrate that, particularly in espionage, things are not always as they seem. 

Join Eve Parker as she confronts her past, a national threat, and a crisis of faith in this spy thriller layered with intrigue, suspense, and surprise ending from an award-winning author reviewers call “a master storyteller."

Misdirect is on sale for .99 cents from now (July 18th, 2017) until the July 25th, 2017!

Find Bev: 


Twitter @BevNault

The Kaleidoscope San Diego Book Award Finalist, Reader’s Favorite Award


Disclaimer: I have not yet read this book therefore I can not give my opinion nor recommendation yet. ~ASC

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Gathering the Threads Review!!!!

Gathering the Threads by Cindy Woodsmall

Book Description:
33127703
After three months ofdraus in da Welt, Ariana has returned to Summer Grove, the Old Order Amish community where she was raised for twenty years, and life with her Brenneman family. Skylar Nash, the Englisch-raised young woman is working in Ariana s cafe while getting to know her birth family and their Plain way of life. Skylar's time in Summer Grove has changed her outlook, just as Ariana has grown to see her personal faith in God in a different light than the manner she was taught while growing up. Both women will have to make decisions about their paths and Ariana must decide what role her childhood friend, ex-Amish Quill Schlabach, will play in her life.
Gathering the Threadsis the third and final novel in the Amish of Summer Grove series."
 


My Opinion:
I liked and disliked this one.  This was the first in the series that I have read, and I'm SO SO happy that they included a "Previously in the The Amish of Summer Grove Series" at the very beginning of the book! LOL! ;)  It got me all caught up on the important parts.  And let me tell you I am REALLY happy this is the only one I've read so far.  After being introduced to the characters, but also reading about their pasts I really don't think I would like Nicholas nearly as much as I did in this one (and I'm not real sure on whether or not I'm going to go back and read the other's or when I will).  Cindy's plot twists kept me engaged, though I did feel it was a touch too long, and there could have been things shortened.  I'm also torn with the end, and that might have to do with me only reading this one, but there are somethings that I wish just had ended differently.  Overall I'm torn with this one, I really liked the characters and there where some scenes that I ABSOLUTELY LOVED!!!!  But it ended differently than I wanted it to and I'm not sure how I feel about that. :/  In the end I am happy I read it though! :)
Songs: "Even If" by MercyMe, "My Lighthouse" by Rend Collective
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Psalm 23

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Gathering the Threads. ~ASC

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight Review!!!!!!!

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: 
Rebecca’s Plight 
by Susanne Dietze

Book Description:
32201570
Is it possible to marry the wrong man? Rebecca Rice was looking forward to a quiet life and a full stomach by becoming mail-order bride to her shopkeeper intended, Mr. Fordham—until the justice of the peace calls him Thaddeus, not Theodore, proceeded by the title Deputy. Rebecca would never marry a lawman like her father, so an annulment seems in order—and fast, since Rebecca’s true intended is impatient to claim her as his own. But when the legalities take longer than expected, Rebecca wonders if Tad Fordham wasn’t the right husband for her all along. . . .

My Opinion:
What a great read!  I really enjoyed this one.  It was entertaining and had some good twists! ;)  It was a little more drawn out than I would have personally liked it to be, but the both funny and amazing scenes more than made up for it.  Rebecca is such a cool character, and I feel she shows true Christian love in her actions.  I LOVED Tad!  He is so sweet!  The whole situation is unique and entertaining as they learn about their mistake and how to deal with it among thieves and a band of hilarious characters!  This was the first book I've read from Susanne and I can't wait to read more!!!  I recommend this sweet and adventurous read!!!!  P.S. It's a GREAT 4th of July read! ;)
Songs: "He Leadeth Me" by the Cluster Pluckers
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from Barbour for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca's Plight. ~ASC

HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY!!!

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Author Interview with Sarah Jane Jacobs & Giveaway!!! :)


Hello Everyone! :) Today I'd like to introduce you to Author Sarah Jane Jacobs.

What is your Favorite Bible verse?

There are so many favorites, but if I narrowed it down to one it would be

Psalm 46:10 – 
“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” 

The whole verse is like The Bottom Line. Know what I mean? But I love the first line, too. I actually have a reminder in my phone that goes off four times during the day telling me to “Be Still” so I can just stop, refocus and keep my mind on God and HIS plan.

What is your favorite song right now?

I love this question! Normally, I probably wouldn’t have an answer but I came across some Susan Ashton CDs in my daughter’s garage at the beginning of March that I had given her years ago. Since I don’t even think she has a CD player anymore, I reclaimed them! I was going to listen to all of them, but I haven’t moved past the first one I picked entitled, “A Distant Call.” There’s a song called “Lonely River” (written by Wayne Kirkpatrick and Michael W. Smith) that I have probably listened to a hundred times. I don’t think I have played a song over and over this much, ever! There is a music video that starts playing in my mind whenever I listen to it. That song is my inspiration right now for a TV script that I wrote many years ago that I want to turn into a book series.

What is your favorite book right now or What are you reading right now?

I’m reading The Epic of Eden by Sandra L. Richter for a book club. It has been a little challenging (it is not what I would consider a light read, lol) but I am really enjoying it. I’m seeing some things in the Bible in a different way. There are a lot of deep things in this book, but here’s a quick quote from the book that I have in my notes: “Pharoah’s program of extermination was so effective that one mother decided that her three-month-old son had a better chance of survival floating down a crocodile-laden river in a homemade basket than in her arms.” Whaaat? Maybe I’m the only one who didn’t realize this, lol. That made me want to google, and according to travel2Egypt.org they did swim the entire river unchallenged “back in the day.” But construction of a dam in 1960 has pushed their nests towards a man-mad lake. Still, the website stated, “To wade in the Nile without peering over ones’ shoulder every moment is a luxury not even ancient Egyptian royalty could enjoy.” Yikes! Ha-ha, for some reason the possibility of a crocodile lurking near that basket never entered my mind.

What or who encouraged you to write?

The very first person who inspired me was someone I worked with over thirty years ago. He worked in the mailroom at an insurance company where I was working, and we would chat whenever he brought mail to my office. He was a scriptwriter and his name was Carey. (If you’re reading this Carey, thank you!) So, I started experimenting with script writing and wrote a pilot for a Christian TV series. Back in the ‘80s the only Christian TV series I knew of was a show on CBN called, “Another Life.” I didn’t really know what to do with my script, although I did boldly send it off to a few places that produced their own Christian shows. Anyway, eventually a friend encouraged me to turn my stories into books.

What was your Inspiration for "Season of Hope"?
The inspiration came from a combination of things. I heard about a short story contest on a radio station and one scene from the book was birthed. I was about to describe the scene when I realized it’s in book two now. Book two was the original story before an editor suggested that I add some scenes. I kept writing until it turned into two books! So, yeah, I wrote that scene which happens near the end of book two and somehow a story that covers around fifteen years happened. Little snippets in the book are memories from my childhood when I would visit my grandparents in Franklin, North Carolina. And the fictional place of Nathan’s Mountain, outside of Bryson City where Amanda and Tyler grow up, was inspired by a vacation with my family in Nantahala.

What's next for you?

The second book in the series will be releasing soon, which finishes the story of Tyler and Amanda. I am currently writing book three which will tell the story of a main character in book two.

Is there anything else that you would like readers to know?


I have a private group on Facebook for anyone that has read Season of Hope if they would like to join. I created it so that I could start sharing excerpts and videos about book two. I’ll also be posting the cover reveal and release dates there before I post them anywhere else. Members will also have the opportunity to get an advanced copy of book two. The link is https://www.facebook.com/groups/seasonofhope/


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
I began writing as a hobby while raising my two children. In 2015, I dusted off my stories and my dreams to see if I could turn my hobby into a career. My first story, Season of Hope, was inspired by summer vacations which always included a trip to Franklin, North Carolina, to visit family and explore The Smoky Mountains. When I'm not writing, I enjoy spending time with family. I love most any activity that involves being outdoors, especially camping, hiking and spontaneous excursions to splash in the ocean. 

I currently live along the Emerald Coast of Florida with my cat Selah and her delightful offspring, Colby, Jack and Tuesday.

When Amanda Jarvis prays that a special friend will move into the vacant house near her isolated mountain home, she isn't upset when God sends a boy instead of a girl. But Amanda's not the only one receiving unexpected answers to her prayers. After fleeing with his mother from an abusive father, Tyler Armstrong finds much-needed love and acceptance with Amanda's family over the next ten years.

As high school graduation nears, Tyler is shocked when one carefree afternoon with Amanda churns up an inner turmoil he would have never imagined; he's crushing on his best friend. And for the first time in his life he's hiding a secret from Amanda. Convinced the timing is all wrong, Tyler pushes his feelings aside as he and Amanda prepare for the future. He will soon begin training to pursue his dream of becoming a Navy SEAL, while Amanda makes plans to spend the summer in Manhattan with her aunt and then return home to the community college.

When Amanda's summer job catapults her into a modeling career, she readily accepts the much-needed distraction. Tyler's impending deployment is turning her world upside down. Along with the fact that she's falling for her best friend. And, for the first time in her relationship with Tyler, she's hiding a secret, too.

Phoebe Garrison, Amanda's controlling aunt, is thrilled when she is given the power to act on behalf of her underage niece. Bored with her Fortune 500 advertising agency, becoming Amanda's manager is just what she's been looking for to rekindle her aspirations. But as Tyler becomes aware of Phoebe's obsession to push Amanda into supermodel status, tensions rise. As the three of them become entangled in a mass of concealed ambition and desire, each will make decisions that will send ripples of turbulence across their futures.

BOOK LINKS:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords


GIVEAWAY:
Enter to win the SEASON OF HOPE giveaway! One person will win the following items…

A copy of the DVD, Sabrina (featured in the book)
Costa Rican Tarrazu Dark Roast Coffee (a character’s favorite French Roast)
An eBook of Season of Hope

Enter below! 






BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:
June 26 – Truth to Shine
June 27 – ASC Book Reviews
June 28 – Meagan Davenport
June 30 – Barbara Brutt
July 4 – Faithfully Bookish
July 7 – Bookworm Mama
July 10 – Tell the World
July 11 – 2014 and Beyond
July 12 – Tammy Karasek
July 13 – Rebecca DeMarino
July 14 – Julie Arduini
July 17 – Laura Bennet
July 18 – All Betts Are Off
July 20 – Rebecca Van Daniker
July 21 – Leslie L. Mckee





This blog tour was coordinated by A Latte of Literature Blog Tour Services. 

Find out more: 


Disclaimer: 
I have not read this book.  Therefore I can not give my opinion or recommend it. ~ASC

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Freedom's Price Review!

Freedom's Price by Catherine Johnson

Book Description:
32510891
When Englishwoman Catherine Haynes loses both her parents and her home in 1856, she decides to cross the Atlantic to find her American mother's family in Louisiana. She enlists the help of Tom Worthington, a dashing Key West man who makes his living salvaging wrecked ships, but whose real goal in life is to bring to justice the man who stole his father's ship and caused his untimely death.

When Catherine finally arrives at her family's plantation, she finds it in disarray and her family absent landowners. 


Torn between returning to Key West with Tom or beginning the hard work of restoring the plantation, Catherine soon finds herself snared in a plot to steal her inheritance. When an incredible secret comes to light, both she and Tom will face a choice. Can they relinquish the dreams that have been holding them captive in order to step forward in faith--even if it costs them everything?

My Opinion:
I'm torn with this one. :/  The first part of the book is AMAZING!!!  It captures the imagination as we return to Key West and some of my favorite characters!  And Catherine starts out as a strong and really cool character to!  The mystery was intriguing and the whole situation was very interesting.  Plus the Faith messages, when there were some, were lovely!  But then towards the end of the book it just kinda fell off in my opinion.  Catherine seemed to get weaker instead of stronger and there were scenes that I think didn't make a whole lot of sense.  I also felt like it was a tad too long, and that if it had ended sooner it would have been better.  I'm happy I read the first part of this book, and I really enjoyed it.  But, personally, I wish the end had been different and not taken so long.

Songs: "Fearless" by Jasmine Murray and "Press On" by Mandisa
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Psalm 28:7

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Freedom's Price. ~ASC

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...