Search This Blog

Statcounter




Monday, May 14, 2018

The Ladies of Ivy Cottage Review!!!!!!!

The Ladies of Ivy Cottage by Julie Klassen

Book Description:
34020176
Return to Ivy Hill in The Ladies of Ivy Cottage as friendships deepen, romances blossom, and mysteries unfold.

Living with the two Miss Groves in Ivy Cottage, impoverished gentlewoman Rachel Ashford is determined to earn her own livelihood . . . somehow. When the village women encourage her to open a subscription library with the many books she has inherited or acquired through donations, Rachel discovers two mysteries hidden among them. A man who once broke her heart helps her search for clues, but will both find more than they bargained for?

Rachel's friend and hostess, Mercy Grove, has given up thoughts of suitors and fills her days managing her girls' school. So when several men take an interest in Ivy Cottage, she assumes pretty Miss Ashford is the cause. Exactly what--or who--has captured each man's attention? The truth may surprise them all.

Meanwhile, life has improved at the coaching inn and Jane Bell is ready to put grief behind her. Now if only the man she misses would return--but where is he?

As the women of Ivy Hill search for answers about the past and hope for the future, might they find love along the way?


My Opinion:
Really nice read!  This is the first I've read in the Ivy Cottage series though I'm pretty sure that the first ended like this one, ON A CLIFF HANGER! :O  Yup, that's right, I wanted to scream NOOOOOOO!!!  And then dive right into the next one!  Alas I must wait until December!  The story reflects both Pride and Prejudice as well as Persuasion (which I personally think nearly all REALLY good reads should! ;) LOL!), but I also really felt like The Ladies of Ivy Cottage had a whole Larkrise to Candleford thing going on also!  I was a little lost when starting because I felt as though I should already know all these characters (though I didn't) and because there are so many characters it took me a little while to figure out and remember who was who.  But once I got that all down and figured a few things out about what must have gone on in the first book, I LOVED IT!  The four main ladies are highly entertaining and really endearing!  I felt for them as they go through more changes and decisions.  I LOVED the Faith woven in; from struggles to rock solid Julie expresses it all beautifully!  There are actually a few scenes that will stay with me long after I read them!!!  Add into all this a little mystery, a batch of secrets, and some really heart throbbing romance and you've got a highly entertaining read! :)  I must also give a shout out on that cover!  I LOVE the ladies outfits!  Especially the floral soft crowned bonnet!  I LOVE THAT! :D

Songs: "O'Lord" by Lauren Daigle
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Ladies of Ivy Cottage. ~ASC

Thursday, April 26, 2018

A Most Noble Heir Review!!!!!!!

A Most Noble Heir by Susan Anne Mason

Book Description:
35138329Will gaining the world cost him everything he holds most dear?

When stable hand Nolan Price learns from his dying mother that he is actually the son of the Earl of Stainsby, his plans for a future with kitchen maid Hannah Burn
ham are shattered. Once he is officially acknowledged as the earl's heir, Nolan will be forbidden to marry beneath his station.

Unwilling to give up the girl he loves, he devises a plan to elope--believing that once their marriage is sanctioned by God, Lord Stainsby will be forced to accept their union. However, as Nolan struggles to learn the ways of the aristocracy, he finds himself caught between his dreams for tomorrow and his father's demanding expectations.

Forces work to keep the couple apart at every turn, and a solution to remain together seems further and further away. With Nolan's new life pulling him irrevocably away from Hannah, it seems only a miracle will bring them back together.


My Opinion:
GREAT story!  I REALLY enjoyed this read!  Though the beginning is really sad the drama quickly takes charge and the "what could happen next?" question leads you through a unique and highly intriguing story!  Though I did feel Nolan was a bit immature at times I quickly realized as a young man having his world thrown upside down, in reality, probably would be, at times! LOL!  I quickly loved Hannah, and as her story unfolds I really felt for her and in some areas could relate to her!  More towards the middle/end the pace started to slow slightly, but then it picked back up at the very end!  The Faith messages are FANTASTIC, Susan weaves them into the life of her characters flawlessly!  I REALLY LOVED the sub characters!  Especially Iris!  Her character is entertaining, highly lovable, and a breathe of fresh air.  Her presence took this story to the next level for me! :)  And in fact I would love for Susan to continue on with some of the sub characters taking the lead, I WANT MORE! :D  I must also note that I love how Susan writes about the marriage bed!  As a single woman I don't want details, but at the same time I can appreciate the beauty of the bond God created between man and wife!  I prefer the fade to black moments if you know what I mean. ;)  Susan balances this very well in my opinion allowing the reader to know what happened without getting into the physical details!  I know now in the future I can trust her as a Christian Author! :)  Overall this is a lovely and entertaining tale with Faith, romance, twists, excitement, and so much more!
  
Songs: "God Gave Me You" by Dave Barnes
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Matthew 19:26

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Most Noble Heir. ~ASC

Friday, April 20, 2018

A Refuge Assured final overall Review and Giveaway!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
Deep read!  There are things that I enjoyed about this book and things I did not.  The things I loved would be the characters, their Faith, and the sweet spots (mainly Part four of the book LOL!)  There were even times in the start of the story that I wanted some of  the sub-characters that I LOVE to get their own stories, and I did long for more details in bobbin lace making.  But the thing for me, and please remember this is my own personal opinion, some of the details (not all of them, but some of them) seem too much for my personal preference.  At certain times they weigh the story down, slow the pace, and/or were just a little too horrifying for me (sorry if your not of the same opinion, I will freely admit I'm probably a reading wimp, but I don't enjoy horrifying details).  After reading the book description I had personally hoped that the book would start in America with looks back to Vivienne's life in France instead of starting at the heart of the horror.  This book is one that is so emotionally gripping that there are times I must take a break.  Though I did enjoy the middle-ish/end and the very end.  Now I will also admit that while I do enjoy history a lot more now than I did when I was in highschool (historical fiction is my favorite genre), I'm still not as passionate about it as some, and I feel that maybe that could be a reason why I thought there was just too much detail at times.  There was another thing that I LOVED learning in the author's note, I thought the cover of A Refuge Assured and the cover of The Lacemaker by Laura Frantz looked like pieces of the same, beautiful picture so they might be linked, and Jocelyn verified that they are! :D  I can not WAIT to read my Lacemaker copy now and see if I can spot the links! :D  Overall, like many I've read from Jocelyn, this was a very deep book.  The very heart of this story is beautiful though I had to take breaks from reading it, and there were some things that I wanted to be different, but I'm glad I read certain parts of the book and really liked many characters.

Songs: "Healing Hand Of God" by Jeremy Camp, "Chain Breaker" by Zach Williams, "Greater" by MercyMe
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11, Psalm 142:5

~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

So, it's been quite a while since I've had a giveaway!  And The Lord Inspired me to make a blooming bookmark for this book; SO that means as a reward for following along as I read and reviewed A Refuge Assured, one US winner will receive a white rose bookmark made by yours truly! :) 



So here's how to enter: 
US entries only please.
Leave me a comment with your email in a safe format (example: IloveJesusATmaranathaDOTcom)
May 1st, 2018 I'll pick a winner and email them.  

If I don't receive a reply within a week I'll pick someone else and so on and so forth. :)

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 4!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
INTENSE! WOW!  There were times in the final parts of the book that I skimmed because once again the shadows were just too deep.  And then there were things that I really enjoyed!  Forgiveness, joy, redemption, and love are found woven in these last parts and I really enjoyed the very ending! :)

~ASC

P.S. look for my final overall review and a special treat for you my readers!


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 3!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
Now it's more my style!  Part four seems to be my favorite right now!  There's still intrigue, twists, surprises, but there also seems to be a little more light to the story, and hope!  I do feel like something's about to happen, but right now I'm really enjoying reading this story and I've reached a point of where I'm gobbling it up! :D  I'm really starting to love these characters and I'm anxious to see what unfolds for them next!


~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 2!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
The story takes a turn.  Though I wish more details about the process of lace making were in the book, Vivienne's occupation has taken a turn, and while I understand the circumstances of history cause this I still hold out hope for more as the book progresses!  And now the mystery has kicked in (though I will say I find interest in her new endeavors as well ;) )!  There are many intriguing elements to this story, and interesting characters.  There are still some scenes that are a touch too dark for me, but once again that's my own personal preference.  I freely admit I prefer a lighter and more humorous style of writing, but I do require some meat to the story as well.  Not everything needs to be sunshine, but too much shadow and darkness weighs me as a reader as well.  For me Jocelyn rides the edge of too much shadow though that's for me personally. 

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

The Pirate Bride Review!!!!!!!

The Pirate Bride Review by Kathleen Y'Barbo

Book Description:
35658894
The last time New Orleans attorney Jean-Luc Valmont saw Maribel Cordoba, a Spanish nobleman's daughter, she was an eleven-year-old orphan perched in the rigging of his privateering vessel proving herself as the best lookout on his crew. Until the day his infamy caught up with them all and innocent lives were lost. 

Unsure why he survived but vowing to make amends, Jean-Luc has buried his past life so deep that no one will find it-until a very much alive and very grown up Maribel Cordoba arrives on his doorstep and threatens all he now holds dear. 

Twelve years after Maribel was pulled from the sea and deposited in an orphanage, hazy memories and vaguely recollected stories all collide in the presence of a man she never really forgot. But falling in love with Maribel could cost Jean-Luc everything.

My Opinion:
WHAT AN ADVENTURE!  This was my first from Kathleen and I LOVED IT!  There are some things that I'm not sure line up with the book description and what's actually in the story as far as years (11 vs 12), but as long as you don't get too technical (like apparently I just did) LOL! that was the only thing (and perhaps I'm just confused on the matter)! ;)  I also feared that I wouldn't like the age difference between the two characters that were to fall in love, but Kathleen worked it in a way that I found myself not minding it really at all.  And let's face it, in this time period it was the norm.  Anyways I first fell in love with the characters and then I fell in love with the adventure!  And then Kathleen TOTALLY BLEW ME OUT OF THE WATER with her twists and turns in the plot!  I also LOVED how long the book was, there are so many books that I feel sacrifice quality for quantity, wanting to hold 400 pages, but they fill those extra pages with too much detail that bog down the story.  Not so with The Pirate Bride, while it might not be as long and drawn out as some of those books, I would rather read one of this quality personally!  If you're looking for a grand adventure on the high seas that has many wonderful characters (so much so that it reminded me loosely of A Princess Bride) then this is the story for you!    

Songs: "All My Hope (feat. Tauren Wells)" by Crowder
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from Barbour for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Pirate Bride. ~ASC

The Innkeeper's Daughter Review

The Innkeeper's Daughter by Michelle Griep 

Book Description:
35488734A London officer goes undercover to expose a plot against the Crown
 

Dover, England, 1808: Officer Alexander Moore goes undercover as a gambling gentleman to expose a high-stakes plot against the king—and he’s a master of disguise, for Johanna Langley believes him to be quite the rogue. . .until she can no longer fight against his unrelenting charm.
 
All Johanna wants is to keep the family inn afloat, but when the rent and the hearth payment are due at the same time, where will she find the extra funds? If she doesn’t come up with the money, there will be nowhere to go other than the workhouse—where she’ll be separated from her ailing mother and ten-year-old brother.
 
Alex desperately wants to help Johanna, especially when she confides in him, but his mission—finding and bringing to justice a traitor to the crown—must come first, or they could all end up dead.


My Opinion:
Hmmmm.  Sadly this one isn't my cup of tea.  Which, as anyone who has read my previous Griep book reviews will know, is strange. :/  She is one of my favorite authors.  Though this one just didn't capture me like ones in the past.  I must say that this feels like a sequel to her Brentwood's Ward (to which I've only read a bit of, not the whole thing yet) and I was so excited when I realized this.  Fans of that book will love the touches that link the two.  And I must say that even though I didn't particularly like this book I absolutely LOVED the Faith scenes and messages!  Lessons of Trusting God and remembering that He is all, are written beautifully!!!!  It was the one thing that I LOVED about this book.  But now please know that these thing that I didn't like are all my own personal feelings and stem from my preferences; so this still may be a book for you and the Faith messages are truly amazing and well written.  I must also say that I only made it to chapter 34 and then just skimmed the rest.  First off I didn't like many of the exclamations of characters, and many of the descriptions are harsher than I've usually read from her.  The overall feel, seems to me, darker as well, which is something I don't like.  And that makes me wonder if that is also the feel in Brentwood's Ward (since I do remember noting some darker threads in what I had read).  I think it might be just these novels having to do with Bow Street Officers, but I digress.  In the beginning I liked the characters, but towards the end I just didn't feel connected to them anymore.  I was MANY steps ahead of them in the plot and knew what was going to happen.  I'm used to expecting BIG twists from Michelle and while there was one that I didn't have figured out before hand, it wasn't all that big to me.  Overall the Lessons on Faith could be worth reading this book since they are so true and beautiful.  If you are a long time Michelle Griep fan give it a try and see what you think (maybe it's just me), but if you are new to her books there are many other's that top my favorites that I would recommend before this one.

Songs: "I Just Need U" by tobyMac, "Hello Beautiful" by MercyMe 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC


Proverbs 3:5-6

~ASC

*I received this book from Barbour for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Innkeeper's Daughter. ~ASC

Guest Post by Marshalee Patterson!

This is a Guest Post by Marshalee Patterson author of 
The Path of the Chosen Warriors! 
And no, you're not seeing double, ;) I think it's so good it needed to be posted twice! :)
Just in case anyone missed it in the longer post! 
Happy Readings ~ASC

Guest Post
What is the purpose of writing?
Why do Christianspretend, or want to pretend, that they are perfect? How will we have the unsaved come to Christ if we present ourselves as a body that never makes mistakes? Maybe my questions have you a bit confused, but here is the reason for these questions and at the end of this post I hope you will share your own thoughts.
In this book- The Path of the Chosen Warriors, the two main characters Joshua and Ruth discovered they were meant for each other when Ruth came home after years of studying abroad. I wrote a scene showing the effect of them missing each other, as they sat at the pool and began to kiss. Somehow Joshua’s lips left Ruth’s lips in the heat of the moment and found its way down to the top of your breast (no she wasn’t naked, she was in a swimsuit), Ruth, however, stopped Joshua reminding him why they couldn’t.
The funny thing though, one person read the book and called that scene questionable or out of place for Christians, and missed the whole purpose of why it was added, to begin with. You see, I wanted to show readers that Christians are not perfect; that we face and experience the same temptations like the unsaved. I wanted readers to see that everyone experiences sexual temptations, even though Christians seem to be afraid to talk about such things.
For me, writing isn’t just to entertain readers, God called me to deliver readers out of struggles, and show them how through my characters. But how can I help someone going through something similar if I am ashamed to mention something of a sexual nature because we are scared to talk about it? If the Songs of Solomon can mention the word breasts, why should it be a bad thing to add it to your book if you want to get a point across? There is a difference between erotica and mentioning a bit about the body in regards to sex if you want to get a point across to readers. After all, how can someone relate to your characters if you paint them as perfect all the time?
Too many times people are going through stuff that they are ashamed of and because Christians always let the world, see them as perfect, the world can’t come to them without feeling judged. Even some Christians are scared or maybe ashamed to approach another because of that. Jesus said none is perfect- All have come short of the glory of God.
One thing I have learnt since The Lord called me to write is that while books entertain readers, they are to minister first. The same way a pastor’s job is to lead people to Christ through preaching- a writer's job is to do the same through their books, whether it's romance or mystery or another genre. We authors need to include prayers and scriptures, knowing that not everyone who reads our books are Christian.
So to answer the question. What is the purpose of writing?  Well, that’s easy-We are called to feed God’s sheep and in doing so lead them to salvation. We all have to give an account to God.

Monday, April 2, 2018

BOOK BLAST, AUTHOR INTERVIEW and GUEST POST!!!!!!!!

The Path of the Chosen Warriors 
by Marshalee Patterson

About the Book:
Title: The Path of the Chosen Warriors
Author: Marshalee Patterson
Genre: Christian Romantic Thriller
Release Date: November 16, 2016 

Staring into the eyes of the man she loved, Ruth knew coming home was where she would make her fondest memories with her beloved Joshua. She was looking forward to their journey together as man and wife. All their plans were interrupted when they were caught up in a terrible storm, and their boat crashed in an unknown area. Although they were lost, it seemed as if destiny had brought them to this unfamiliar territory, and until they discovered what it was and fulfilled it, their future together would be put on hold.

Excerpt:
Her eyes widened as she felt his hand on her throat. Ruth grabbed his hand to free herself as she felt her breath diminishing. He forced her to stand as he got to his feet. Suddenly Joshua noticed she was not near him and turned to see her being choked by the High Priest.

Joshua rushed towards the High Priest to free Ruth, but was grabbed by the free hand of the High Priest and thrown back into the crowd, getting their attention now. They all gasped as they realised that it was no longer the High Priest but Abaddon himself. “He’s so damn strong,” Joshua said to himself rubbing his throat.

While Joshua was being helped to his feet, Brad sprang into action. He pounced on Abbadon sending two hard blows into his body. It felt like solid rock. Abbadon grabbed for him and Brad swung from his grasp and went down on one knee, sending a blow into the back of his knee trying to bring him down. Abbadon staggered for a moment, but stood firm again. Brad quickly retrieved a dagger from his boot and sprung to his feet ready to pierce him in his neck.

Abbadon was quick and Brad’s eyes widened when he felt Abbadon’s hand on his throat. Abbadon gritted his teeth and glared at him. Brad kicked his feet when he felt his body lifting off the ground. He tugged against the hand of the High Priest while gasping for air. With a loud growl, Abbadon flung him into the direction of the crowd.

Abaddon walked towards the crowd with his grip firmly around Ruth’s neck. They stepped back, as the sight of him was nothing they had ever seen before. Even though they saw the blackness in his eyes and felt the evil within him, they remembered the God who had just saved them and they held their faith. Joshua and Brad joined with them.

"Abaddon we are not afraid of you. Our God told us that we have power over all rulers of darkness and spiritual wickedness in the high places. Therefore, we command you to release her and be consumed by fire in the name of Jesus,” they shouted at him.

They kept on calling on the fire of God to consume him and as they did, the High Priest started screaming at them in the creepiest voice that made Ruth shiver. Even as she felt breath leaving her body and saw how without effort, Abbadon lifting Brad into the air; she saw only the High Priest and tried to reach him.

“Fight him, resist him, command him to leave you in the Name of Jesus,” and at that name, Ruth saw the switch from Abaddon to High Priest and back to Abaddon and the look she got from Abaddon this time was deadly.


Links to Buy
Kobo Indigo

 About the Author:
Marshalee Patterson was born in Kingston, Jamaica. She has loved reading since she could walk. Growing up without a television sparked in her a love for reading and the world of imagination. Some of her favourite novels were written by Charles Dickens, Jane Eyre and Victor Hugo, as she found she liked the true to life stories that we all can relate to. She wrote her first novella-Predestined Love after travelling to Italy and wanted to write a romance novel about it, only she didn’t know that God had plans for her and that story, when he change the direction of what she originally had in mind.
It was then that she knew she was called to write stories to uplift and inspire readers, showing them how to find God in their struggles and the faith to trust Him through it. She is a lover of nature and the tranquillity of it. She finds the outdoors refreshing and peaceful. Marshalee loves Spanish ballads and dances salsa very well.

Connect with Marshalee


Q&A with Marshalee

What is your Favorite Bible verse?
There are many but this one stands out when I need to encourage myself in the protection of my Father. It’s Zechariah 2:5, “For I, saith the Lord, will be unto her a wall of fire round about, and will be the glory in the midst of her.”

What is your favourite song right now?
That would be Point of Grace-Jesus will still be there. That song is so encouraging.

What is your favourite book right now or What are you reading right now?
At present, I haven’t the time to read any books, but my favourite has always been, ‘Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.’ I like books that have a lot of hopeful lessons that can guide us in our own lives.

What or who encouraged you to write?
I get inspiration from the Holy-Spirit. He gives me either just an image or a dream and from that, I have to pray and trust the Lord to bring that story to life. I guess in doing so I am reminded that the story isn’t just about me even though he allows a lot of my own experiences to create the characters and story.

What was your Inspiration for “The Path of the Chosen Warriors"?
My inspiration for this book is to make people aware of some of the ways the devil have us in bondage and show them through spiritual warfare prayers that the Lord has me learning as well, how to be free from them.

What's next for you?
I am at the moment editing my next book called, ‘A Shattered Life Restored,’ that will be released in July. I also have two other books that will follow soon after. I will have all the updates to those posted on my website and soon the cover for A Shattered Life will be up on the website. Anyone who wants to sign up to be an ARC reader for that book can visit my website and leave a message on the contact page.  

What else would you like readers to know?
I have started a group on Facebook to bond with readers and authors. It’s not just about books but a place to help encourage each other by sharing inspirational stories about ourselves to uplift others in the group, also we pray for each other as the Bible commands us to do. Authors and bloggers can also promote themselves there too. The link is https://www.facebook.com/groups/498800567180982/  You are all welcome.

Guest Post
What is the purpose of writing?
Why do Christianspretend, or want to pretend, that they are perfect? How will we have the unsaved come to Christ if we present ourselves as a body that never makes mistakes? Maybe my questions have you a bit confused, but here is the reason for these questions and at the end of this post I hope you will share your own thoughts.
In this book- The Path of the Chosen Warriors, the two main characters Joshua and Ruth discovered they were meant for each other when Ruth came home after years of studying abroad. I wrote a scene showing the effect of them missing each other, as they sat at the pool and began to kiss. Somehow Joshua’s lips left Ruth’s lips in the heat of the moment and found its way down to the top of your breast (no she wasn’t naked, she was in a swimsuit), Ruth, however, stopped Joshua reminding him why they couldn’t.
The funny thing though, one person read the book and called that scene questionable or out of place for Christians, and missed the whole purpose of why it was added, to begin with. You see, I wanted to show readers that Christians are not perfect; that we face and experience the same temptations like the unsaved. I wanted readers to see that everyone experiences sexual temptations, even though Christians seem to be afraid to talk about such things.
For me, writing isn’t just to entertain readers, God called me to deliver readers out of struggles, and show them how through my characters. But how can I help someone going through something similar if I am ashamed to mention something of a sexual nature because we are scared to talk about it? If the Songs of Solomon can mention the word breasts, why should it be a bad thing to add it to your book if you want to get a point across? There is a difference between erotica and mentioning a bit about the body in regards to sex if you want to get a point across to readers. After all, how can someone relate to your characters if you paint them as perfect all the time?
Too many times people are going through stuff that they are ashamed of and because Christians always let the world, see them as perfect, the world can’t come to them without feeling judged. Even some Christians are scared or maybe ashamed to approach another because of that. Jesus said none is perfect- All have come short of the glory of God.
One thing I have learnt since The Lord called me to write is that while books entertain readers, they are to minister first. The same way a pastor’s job is to lead people to Christ through preaching- a writer's job is to do the same through their books, whether it's romance or mystery or another genre. We authors need to include prayers and scriptures, knowing that not everyone who reads our books are Christian.
So to answer the question. What is the purpose of writing?  Well, that’s easy-We are called to feed God’s sheep and in doing so lead them to salvation. We all have to give an account to God.

              Blog Stops
                April 1- Locks, Hooks and Books
                April 2- ASC Book Reviews
                April 3- All-of-a-kind Mom
                April 4- Brooke Blogs
                April 5- A Greater Yes
                April 6- MJB Reviewers
                April 7- A Baker’s Perspective
                April 7- Mary Hake

*Disclaimer: I have not read The Path of the Chosen Warriors therefore I cannot give my opinion, nor say whether I agree or disagree, with or about anything expressed in the book (though I will say that I truly LOVE Marshalee's guest post).  Please use your own God led discernment when it comes to reading any books shared on my blog! Happy reading! ~ASC  

Sunday, April 1, 2018

HAPPY EASTER!!!!

HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE!!!!!

"He is not here: for he is risen, as he said. 
Come, see the place where the Lord lay."
Matthew 28:6

HALLELUJAH!

(click through to ASC Book Reviews to view videos above and below)


Wednesday, March 21, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 1!

Hello all! :)  So since A  Refuge Assured is a 400+ page book, and I am a self proclaimed "slow reader", add in there that it is a pretty deep book, and broken into 5 parts of it's own.  I was Inspired to review it in pieces.  
So as I read I'll be posting mini reviews on what I think about what I've read.  I hope you enjoy this new idea and follow along! :)
Happy Reading! ~ASC

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
DEEP READ!  Ok so I know that France has a very bloody history especially with the revolution times.  And that's where Jocelyn immediately drops you in the beginning, right in the beginning/middle of a lot of blood shed.  I will say that the horror of the details doesn't sit that well with me.  Especially because I read right before going to sleep so.......  I skimmed through many of the terrible details.  When I read the book description I was hoping that we would start in America and find out some of Vivienne's details looking back.  And since I had to skim through a good deal of horrifying detail I felt it could have easily been done.  This could be my own personal preference however, so if you're more hard core than I am perhaps you will disagree! ;)  Yes that's right, I might be a wimpy reader, but I'm embrace it! :D  The main character Vivienne however is a highly interesting one!  I can't wait to see what else happens to her and where else the story leads!  Also I absolutely LOVE the lacemaker parts and I hope there are more of those! :)

Songs: (I've chosen these songs because I hope that Vivienne will cling to The Lord and remember she is not alone and that she can find strength in Him.  I hope as the book goes on they will still fit :) ) "Healing Hand Of God" by Jeremy Camp, "Chain Breaker" by Zach Williams, and "Greater" by MercyMe
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Psalm 142:5

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...