Search This Blog

Statcounter




Friday, July 20, 2018

The Seafaring Women of the Vera B

The Seafaring Women of the Vera B
by Susan Page Davis and James S. Davis


Book Description:
28962647With the Vera B’s captain dead in Melbourne, Australia, Alice Packard thinks the worst has happened, until she learns the crew has deserted her husband’s ship in favor of the goldfields. 

Only one old man, Gypsy Deak, sticks by her, but Gypsy alone can’t raise a crew from the depleted population. In desperation, Alice turns to the only source of plentiful workers: the women of Melbourne.
In a bold move, she and Gypsy empty a brothel, promising the escaped women a new life. 

Her all-woman (save one) crew put their backs and hearts into the voyage, but Alice finds training her sailors much harder than she expected. Her faith is tested to the limit. With a cargo to sell, angry brothel and tavern owners in pursuit, pirates to evade, and a mysterious stowaway, will the seafaring women of the Vera B. survive to tell the tale of this daring adventure?

My Opinion:
I LOVE THIS BOOK!  WOW WOW WOW WOW What an adventure this is!  But I NEED MORE!  This is one of those books that I had to FORCE myself to put down so that I could....you know....sleep! ;)  And then I would just lay there wide awake longing to pick it back up and wondering what was going to happen to these characters next!  It is one great scene after another.  I LOVE the Faith threads!  I will say that some might find quite a bit of blood shed towards the end, but no more then when you watch an old western, or the old 1960 Swiss Family Robinson.  In fact it reminded me SO much about our old classic addition of Swiss Family Robinson that I had to pop it in and watch it! ;)  But there's cliff hangers in this book and I'm LONGING for MORE!  I LOVE so many of these women and the whole concept of this story!  The fact that they're leading these women to a better life and Faith, is fantastic!  But then you throw in all the adventure and well written descriptions and this becomes a book I could read again and again!!!!  If you're looking for a story filled with Faith, pirates, sailing, strong female leads, a touch of romance, humor, excitement, and SO much more, then this is the book for you!

Songs: Amazing Grace
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

John 20:31

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Seafaring Women of the Vera B. ~ASC

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Falling for You Review

Falling for You by Becky Wade

Book Description:
36347611

Willow Bradford is content taking a break from modeling to run her family's inn until she comes face-to-face with NFL quarterback Corbin Stewart, the man who broke her heart--and wants to win her back. When a decades-old missing-persons case brings them together, they're forced to decide whether they can risk falling for one another all over again.



My Opinion:
Not for me.  This was my first Becky Wade book and sadly it was personally not my cup of tea.  I couldn't find a connection with the characters for some reason.  And the drama wouldn't capture me either.  Plus there are parts of the writing that I would have preferred not being in a Christian novel.  The mystery within however intrigued me enough to skim through/past the parts not to my taste instead of putting it down all together.  Though that (the mystery) too didn't personally satisfy my reading appetite in the end.  Please remember this is my own personal opinion and taste so if you are interested in this book my recommendation would be for you to read an excerpt first. :)

Songs: "Amazing Grace"
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

1 Peter 5:6-7

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Falling for You. ~ASC

Monday, July 2, 2018

Cowboy Bodyguard Review!!!!!!!

Cowboy Bodyguard by Dana Mentink

Book Description:
39300921
She must protect a baby...With her secret husband's helpIn this Gold Country Cowboys novel, Jack Thorn gets a surprise call from the woman he married in secret years ago. Shannon Livingston needs his protection for herself and the baby she's hiding from a biker gang targeting the mother. Now Jack must help Shannon, even if shielding her means pretending to be a true husband to the only woman he's ever loved..



My Opinion:
WOO HOO!  I LOVED IT!  I've loved Jack pretty much from the beginning of this series and I was SO happy to read his story!  And what a story it is!  The pace is SO fast in this one!  I found myself figuratively on the edge of my seat the whole time, and had to find just the right places to force myself to put it down so I could, you know.......sleep! ;D  Needless to say I DEVOURED this book!  Dana has once again come up with a completely unique plot and while there are many scenes I enjoyed there's this one scene.......well I don't want to give anything away, let's just say IT IS THE BEST SCENE!  But you'll have to read it and see what you think and if you can tell which part I'm talking about! ;)  Even though I love Jack and truly enjoyed his story it's the next Thorn brother who I've been waiting for! :D  Can't WAIT to return to Gold Country! 

Songs: "God Gave Me You" by Dave Barnes
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Cowboy Bodyguard. ~ASC

Saturday, June 23, 2018

BOOK BLAST for A Time for Adventure!


Book 4 in the Abi Hensley Series!

A Time For Adventure 
(The Abi Hensley Series Book 4) 
by Miranda Atchley


Book Description:
40176846
The year is 1921, and after years of dreaming, Abi Hensley has set out to travel through Europe. Along with her friend Meg Clery, Abi travels from the rich historical sites in England, to the gorgeous green landscapes of Ireland, visits an abandoned castle in Scotland, and roams through the chic streets of Paris. Along the way, they meet a myriad of interesting people, encounter familiar faces, and see things they’ve only ever dreamed of. Yet their time in Europe isn’t without its challenges. While in Ireland, Abi joins Meg in spending time at her family’s farm. There, they find that the Clerys are overwhelmed by the demands of their farm. In light of this, the family must make some hard decisions; choices that could change the course of their lives forever. One thing is for certain; Abi’s tour of Europe will most definitely be a tie for adventure.



About The Author:
Miranda Atchley loves books of all sorts, but has always had a special place in her heart for historical fiction. Writing is her favorite thing to do and she has published three historical novels and three contemporary young adult novels. Her novel A Castle in the Sky was a finalist for Read Free.ly’s The 50 Best Indie Books of 2016. She also writes the blog A Real Writer’s Life. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find Miranda with her head in a book, taking a walk, or watching Downton Abbey at her home in Arkansas.
Find Miranda at:
Also in celebration of this release,
the Kindle edition of Book 3 will be FREE to download June 22-26.


The Abi Hensley Series

   A Castle in the SkyAll The Future HoldsOf Things To ComeA Time For Adventure (The Abi Hensley Series Book 4)




Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The Captured Bride Review!!!!

The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep

Book Description:
36040947
Mercy Lytton, a scout with keen eyesight raised among the Mohawks, and Elias Dubois, a condemned traitor working both sides of the conflict, must join together to get a shipment of gold safely into British hands.

A War-Torn Countryside Is No Place for a Lady 
Mercy Lytton is a lady like none other. Raised amongst the Mohawks, she straddles two cultures, yet each are united in one cause. . .to defeat the French.  Born with a rare gift of unusually keen eyesight, she is chosen as a scout to accompany a team of men on a dangerous mission.  Yet it is not her life that is threatened. It is her heart.  Condemned as a traitor, Elias Dubois faces the gallows.  At the last minute, he is offered his freedom if he consents to accompany a stolen shipment of French gold to a nearby fort—but he is the one they stole it from in the first place.  It turns out that the real thief is the beguiling woman, Mercy Lytton, for she steals his every waking thought.

Can love survive divided loyalties in a backcountry wilderness?

My Opinion:
This is the Michelle Griep writing I LOVE!  Anyone that follows my reviews knows that her last book wasn't my cup of tea, but since I've loved her others in the past I jumped at a chance to read The Captured Bride.  And this is one that grabbed me and didn't want to turn me loose in the beginning.  Towards the end the pace slowed in spots a bit, but everything wrapped up nicely!  I LOVED these characters!!!!  Elias especially became a huge favorite!  This read like a fantastic western to me (except in the East! LOL!)!  It's got action, suspense, love, betrayal, and Faith!  OH those prayers and Faith moments, I LOVE THEM!  It reminded me of the show Hawkeye in a few ways.  Overall I enjoyed this read and wouldn't mind reading it again sometime. ;)

Songs: "Freedom Hymn" by Austin French
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from Barbour for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Captured Bride. ~ASC

Saturday, June 2, 2018

The Accidental Guardian Review!!!!!!!

The Accidental Guardian by Mary Connealy

Book Description:
35086271She's the only witness to a wagon train attack. Keeping her safe, though, means his world is about to be turned upside down.

When Trace Riley finds the smoldering ruins of a small wagon train, he recognizes an attack by the same group who left him as sole survivor years ago. Living off the wilderness since then, he's finally carved out a home and started a herd--while serving as a self-appointed guardian of the trail. He'd hoped the days of driving off dangerous men were over, but the latest attack shows otherwise.

Deborah Harkness saved her younger sister and two toddlers during the attack, and now finds herself at the mercy of her rescuer. Trace becomes an accidental guardian when he offers the only shelter for miles around and agrees to take them in until they can safely continue their journey. His simple bachelor existence never anticipated kids and women in the picture and their arrival is unsettling--yet enticing.
Trace and Deborah find themselves drawing ever closer as they work together to bring justice to the trail and help the group survive the winter--but every day closer to spring means a day closer to leaving the mountains forever.

My Opinion:
Highly Entertaining!  I LOVE Mary Connealy's books!  And The Accidental Guardian is no exception!  A fantastic western adventure filled with fabulous characters!  I LOVE the Faith scenes and the humor laced with in the serious!  When the plot would start to get really heavy Mary throws in some humor or even a touch of action to lighten the mood of the story.  There were some lulls in the pace of the story for me, every now and then.  And while not everything is highly realistic it's all in good entertainment and adventure! ;)  I have to give a shout out to ???? for that completely beautiful, eye catching, and adorable cover!  I REALLY loved all these unique and relatable characters and was totally left hanging in the end.  So I am champing at the bit for the next in this series!

Songs: "God Gave Me You" by Dave Barnes 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Matthew 3:3, Mark 1:3, Luke 3:4, John 1:23

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Accidental Guardian. ~ASC

Monday, May 14, 2018

The Ladies of Ivy Cottage Review!!!!!!!

The Ladies of Ivy Cottage by Julie Klassen

Book Description:
34020176
Return to Ivy Hill in The Ladies of Ivy Cottage as friendships deepen, romances blossom, and mysteries unfold.

Living with the two Miss Groves in Ivy Cottage, impoverished gentlewoman Rachel Ashford is determined to earn her own livelihood . . . somehow. When the village women encourage her to open a subscription library with the many books she has inherited or acquired through donations, Rachel discovers two mysteries hidden among them. A man who once broke her heart helps her search for clues, but will both find more than they bargained for?

Rachel's friend and hostess, Mercy Grove, has given up thoughts of suitors and fills her days managing her girls' school. So when several men take an interest in Ivy Cottage, she assumes pretty Miss Ashford is the cause. Exactly what--or who--has captured each man's attention? The truth may surprise them all.

Meanwhile, life has improved at the coaching inn and Jane Bell is ready to put grief behind her. Now if only the man she misses would return--but where is he?

As the women of Ivy Hill search for answers about the past and hope for the future, might they find love along the way?


My Opinion:
Really nice read!  This is the first I've read in the Ivy Cottage series though I'm pretty sure that the first ended like this one, ON A CLIFF HANGER! :O  Yup, that's right, I wanted to scream NOOOOOOO!!!  And then dive right into the next one!  Alas I must wait until December!  The story reflects both Pride and Prejudice as well as Persuasion (which I personally think nearly all REALLY good reads should! ;) LOL!), but I also really felt like The Ladies of Ivy Cottage had a whole Larkrise to Candleford thing going on also!  I was a little lost when starting because I felt as though I should already know all these characters (though I didn't) and because there are so many characters it took me a little while to figure out and remember who was who.  But once I got that all down and figured a few things out about what must have gone on in the first book, I LOVED IT!  The four main ladies are highly entertaining and really endearing!  I felt for them as they go through more changes and decisions.  I LOVED the Faith woven in; from struggles to rock solid Julie expresses it all beautifully!  There are actually a few scenes that will stay with me long after I read them!!!  Add into all this a little mystery, a batch of secrets, and some really heart throbbing romance and you've got a highly entertaining read! :)  I must also give a shout out on that cover!  I LOVE the ladies outfits!  Especially the floral soft crowned bonnet!  I LOVE THAT! :D

Songs: "O'Lord" by Lauren Daigle
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Ladies of Ivy Cottage. ~ASC

Thursday, April 26, 2018

A Most Noble Heir Review!!!!!!!

A Most Noble Heir by Susan Anne Mason

Book Description:
35138329Will gaining the world cost him everything he holds most dear?

When stable hand Nolan Price learns from his dying mother that he is actually the son of the Earl of Stainsby, his plans for a future with kitchen maid Hannah Burn
ham are shattered. Once he is officially acknowledged as the earl's heir, Nolan will be forbidden to marry beneath his station.

Unwilling to give up the girl he loves, he devises a plan to elope--believing that once their marriage is sanctioned by God, Lord Stainsby will be forced to accept their union. However, as Nolan struggles to learn the ways of the aristocracy, he finds himself caught between his dreams for tomorrow and his father's demanding expectations.

Forces work to keep the couple apart at every turn, and a solution to remain together seems further and further away. With Nolan's new life pulling him irrevocably away from Hannah, it seems only a miracle will bring them back together.


My Opinion:
GREAT story!  I REALLY enjoyed this read!  Though the beginning is really sad the drama quickly takes charge and the "what could happen next?" question leads you through a unique and highly intriguing story!  Though I did feel Nolan was a bit immature at times I quickly realized as a young man having his world thrown upside down, in reality, probably would be, at times! LOL!  I quickly loved Hannah, and as her story unfolds I really felt for her and in some areas could relate to her!  More towards the middle/end the pace started to slow slightly, but then it picked back up at the very end!  The Faith messages are FANTASTIC, Susan weaves them into the life of her characters flawlessly!  I REALLY LOVED the sub characters!  Especially Iris!  Her character is entertaining, highly lovable, and a breathe of fresh air.  Her presence took this story to the next level for me! :)  And in fact I would love for Susan to continue on with some of the sub characters taking the lead, I WANT MORE! :D  I must also note that I love how Susan writes about the marriage bed!  As a single woman I don't want details, but at the same time I can appreciate the beauty of the bond God created between man and wife!  I prefer the fade to black moments if you know what I mean. ;)  Susan balances this very well in my opinion allowing the reader to know what happened without getting into the physical details!  I know now in the future I can trust her as a Christian Author! :)  Overall this is a lovely and entertaining tale with Faith, romance, twists, excitement, and so much more!
  
Songs: "God Gave Me You" by Dave Barnes
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Matthew 19:26

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Most Noble Heir. ~ASC

Friday, April 20, 2018

A Refuge Assured final overall Review and Giveaway!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
Deep read!  There are things that I enjoyed about this book and things I did not.  The things I loved would be the characters, their Faith, and the sweet spots (mainly Part four of the book LOL!)  There were even times in the start of the story that I wanted some of  the sub-characters that I LOVE to get their own stories, and I did long for more details in bobbin lace making.  But the thing for me, and please remember this is my own personal opinion, some of the details (not all of them, but some of them) seem too much for my personal preference.  At certain times they weigh the story down, slow the pace, and/or were just a little too horrifying for me (sorry if your not of the same opinion, I will freely admit I'm probably a reading wimp, but I don't enjoy horrifying details).  After reading the book description I had personally hoped that the book would start in America with looks back to Vivienne's life in France instead of starting at the heart of the horror.  This book is one that is so emotionally gripping that there are times I must take a break.  Though I did enjoy the middle-ish/end and the very end.  Now I will also admit that while I do enjoy history a lot more now than I did when I was in highschool (historical fiction is my favorite genre), I'm still not as passionate about it as some, and I feel that maybe that could be a reason why I thought there was just too much detail at times.  There was another thing that I LOVED learning in the author's note, I thought the cover of A Refuge Assured and the cover of The Lacemaker by Laura Frantz looked like pieces of the same, beautiful picture so they might be linked, and Jocelyn verified that they are! :D  I can not WAIT to read my Lacemaker copy now and see if I can spot the links! :D  Overall, like many I've read from Jocelyn, this was a very deep book.  The very heart of this story is beautiful though I had to take breaks from reading it, and there were some things that I wanted to be different, but I'm glad I read certain parts of the book and really liked many characters.

Songs: "Healing Hand Of God" by Jeremy Camp, "Chain Breaker" by Zach Williams, "Greater" by MercyMe
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11, Psalm 142:5

~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

So, it's been quite a while since I've had a giveaway!  And The Lord Inspired me to make a blooming bookmark for this book; SO that means as a reward for following along as I read and reviewed A Refuge Assured, one US winner will receive a white rose bookmark made by yours truly! :) 



So here's how to enter: 
US entries only please.
Leave me a comment with your email in a safe format (example: IloveJesusATmaranathaDOTcom)
May 1st, 2018 I'll pick a winner and email them.  

If I don't receive a reply within a week I'll pick someone else and so on and so forth. :)

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 4!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
INTENSE! WOW!  There were times in the final parts of the book that I skimmed because once again the shadows were just too deep.  And then there were things that I really enjoyed!  Forgiveness, joy, redemption, and love are found woven in these last parts and I really enjoyed the very ending! :)

~ASC

P.S. look for my final overall review and a special treat for you my readers!


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 3!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
Now it's more my style!  Part four seems to be my favorite right now!  There's still intrigue, twists, surprises, but there also seems to be a little more light to the story, and hope!  I do feel like something's about to happen, but right now I'm really enjoying reading this story and I've reached a point of where I'm gobbling it up! :D  I'm really starting to love these characters and I'm anxious to see what unfolds for them next!


~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

A Refuge Assured Review Part 2!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green

Book Description:
35069159
Vivienne Rivard fled revolutionary France and seeks a new life for herself and a boy in her care, who some say is the Dauphin. But America is far from safe, as militiaman Liam Delaney knows. He proudly served in the American Revolution but is less sure of his role in the Whiskey Rebellion. Drawn together, will Liam and Vivienne find the peace they long for?







My Opinion:
The story takes a turn.  Though I wish more details about the process of lace making were in the book, Vivienne's occupation has taken a turn, and while I understand the circumstances of history cause this I still hold out hope for more as the book progresses!  And now the mystery has kicked in (though I will say I find interest in her new endeavors as well ;) )!  There are many intriguing elements to this story, and interesting characters.  There are still some scenes that are a touch too dark for me, but once again that's my own personal preference.  I freely admit I prefer a lighter and more humorous style of writing, but I do require some meat to the story as well.  Not everything needs to be sunshine, but too much shadow and darkness weighs me as a reader as well.  For me Jocelyn rides the edge of too much shadow though that's for me personally. 

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Refuge Assured. ~ASC

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...