Search This Blog

Statcounter




Thursday, November 23, 2017

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!


Late last year we were GREATLY Blessed with gaining some bunnies!  
This is one from one of our first litters this year!
I nick named her Diva ;)
HAPPY THANKSGIVING 
From ASC Book Reviews a.k.a Heaven Sent Hares!

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian Review and GIVEAWAY!!!!

Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian by Dana Mentink

Book Description:
34889582
Someone is dead set on stopping Shelby Arroyo from doing her job: assessing mineral rights in a mine in gold country. But after rancher Barrett Thorn rescues her from an attack, the handsome widowed cowboy seems to feel responsible for her. That is, until he discovers she's from the family that he'll never forgive for his wife's death. As the threats against Shelby escalate, cowboy honor and an unexpected attraction keep Barrett by her side, even at his own risk. And since Shelby won't back down, Barrett must protect the brave, loyal woman he has no business falling for…a woman someone wants to kill by Christmas.

My Opinion:
LOVE IT!!!!!  Just WOW!  This book is SO twisty and good!  You think you know who done what, and then Dana just BLOWS you out of the water! LOL!  I've read Dana's sweet and funny romances before (and loved them), but had yet to read one of her Suspense books.  Well let me tell you, I will be reading more suspense in the future!  I just love the flow of Dana's writing.  The story is paced well, and while the scenes in the mine made me a little nervous, I still think her descriptions are FANTASTIC! ;)  I LOVE this family and can't wait for the rest of this series!  If you're looking for a tricky mystery, sweet romance, deep forgiveness, and more, this book is for you!  I HIGHLY recommend and it will make a GREAT CHRISTmas present! ;)


Songs: "Forgiveness" Matthew West, "Joy to the World", "Silent Night" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Romans 8:28

~ASC

*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian. ~ASC

About the Author:

dana mentink
Dana Mentink is a two time American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award winner, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award and a Holt Medallion winner. She is a national bestselling author of over thirty-five titles in the suspense and lighthearted romance genres. She is pleased to write for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense, Harlequin Heartwarming and Harvest House. Besides writing, she busies herself teaching third grade. Mostly, she loves to be home with Papa Bear, Yogi, Boo Boo, a nutty terrier, a chubby box turtle and a feisty parakeet.

Giveaway

image2


Guest Post from Dana Mentink

Howdy, readers! I am thrilled to be bringing you this four book Gold Country Cowboys series that takes place in an area near and dear to my heart! My family and I have enjoyed many adventures in this amazing area, from exploring gold mines, to climbing through caverns, and soaking in the incredible history. As a matter of fact, we recently enjoyed a train trip on the historic V and T Railroad which took us past abandoned mines and even some active ones where people are engaged in modern day treasure hunting. California’s Gold Country is a fascinating place filled with secret treasures. I hope you will enjoy some wild adventures with four cowboy brothers who have some secrets of their own. God bless you all!

Blog Stops

Cordially Barbara, November 16
Genesis 5020, November 16
Have A Wonderful Day, November 17
A Greater Yes, November 17
ASC Book Reviews, November 18
Splashes of Joy, November 18
Red Headed Book Lady, November 19
Remembrancy, November 19
Autism mom, November 20
Janices book reviews, November 21
Moments Dipped in Ink, November 22
New Horizon Reviews, November 23
Pause for Tales, November 24
Ashley’s Bookshelf, November 24
Cafinated Reads, November 25
Blogging With Carol, November 26
Daysong Reflections, November 26
Carpe Diem, November 27
Karen Sue Hadley, November 27
Babs Book Bistro, November 28
Bibliophile Reviews, November 28
The Power of Words, November 29

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The CHIRSTmas Admirer Review and GIVEAWAY!!!

The CHRISTmas Admirer by Laura V. Hilton

Book Description:
34746408
Benaiah Troyer has loved Susanna King for as long as he can remember, but when his parents died in an accident a year ago, he broke up with her—for her own good. After all, he was now the sole caregiver for his three younger sisters. What woman would want to put up with that? Still, against his better judgment, he can’t help leaving her a gift now and then, anonymously addressing her name in big block print, just to catch a smile. Roses one month, maple syrup candy another; and maybe this time, something special for Christmas.

Susanna has never gotten over losing Benaiah, but now the clock is ticking. Her father is selling his glass-blowing business, remarrying in January, and moving to Iowa with his bossy wife-to-be. Angry and frustrated, Susanna realizes she’s left with three options: one, go with Daed to his new home with a new mom; two, stay in Jamesport, Missouri, as an old maid; or, three, the best yet, flush out her mysterious secret admirer. But how could she be with anyone else when her heart is still with Benaiah?


About the Author:

Laura Hilton
Amish fiction lovers responded positively and immediately to Laura V. Hilton’s debut novel, Patchwork Dreams, when she burst on the scene in 2009 with her unique series, The Amish of Seymour, set in the tiny town of Seymour, in Webster County, Missouri. Fans of the genre immediately recognized Hilton’s insider knowledge, not only of the Webster County community, but Amish culture in general. Her natural speech and writing patterns, she says, are uniquely “Amish,” acquired from her Amish maternal grandparents. The Amish of Seymour, includes Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another. Her second series, The Amish of Webster County, is comprised of Healing Love, Surrendered Love, and Awakened Love. A stand-alone title, A White Christmas in Webster County, was released in September 2014. The Amish of Jamesport includes The Snow Globe, The Postcard and The Birdhouse. In spring 2016 she released The Amish Firefighter with the setting in Jamesport, MO, the same as for The Amish Wanderer.

Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and a professional book reviewer. Laura and her husband, Steve, have five children, whom Laura homeschools. The family makes their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas.
My Opinion:
Sort of a Cinderella story.  This is my first Laura V Hilton book.  And there are things that I like and things that aren't for me.  The pace seemed to be both flow nicely and still be drawn out.  Maybe it was just that I wanted the plot to not be quite so drawn out.  I enjoyed the characters but like Susanna, Benaiah's back and forth frustrated me!  I also felt REALLY bad for Susanna as I think some of the other characters treated her horridly, and towards the end I REALLY got frustrated and had to stop reading every now and then for the sake of my blood pressure :/ .  I LOVE the idea of the secret admirer gifts and enjoyed reading what they were! LOL!  Plus Ben's family is GREAT, and the Faith messages surrounding him are fantastic!  I also LOVED that we start the story before Thanksgiving and head into CHRISTmas!  One thing that bothered me a lot when I was reading had nothing to do with the story itself; the typos are so many that it makes it a little hard to read.  Overall I think this is a sweet story for this Holiday season!   
 
Songs: "Oh, Me of Little Faith" by Matthew West, "Silent Night", "O Holy Night" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

2 Samuel 23:20Psalm 91:11Psalm 91:13

~ASC

*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The CHRISTmas Admirer. ~ASC


GIVEAWAY:
In honor of her tour, Laura is giving away
Grand Prize Package: The Christmas Admirer, “Unto Us a Child is Born” painting on decorative serving plate by Donna White, The Hearthside Collection, Inc., and commemorative Whitaker House/Anchor Distributors coloring book (not in photo).
1st Place Package: The Christmas Admirer and The Very First Christmas by Juliet David with interactive illustrations by Pauline Siewert (children’s book). 2nd Place Package: The Christmas Admirer and “The Woman Who Honors The Lord Shall Be Praised” myrrh-scented candle from abba Jerusalem!



Blog Stops

ASC Book Reviews, November 9
Books n Baubles, November 9
Janices book review, November 9
Have A Wonderful Day, November 10
A Greater Yes, November 10
D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, November 11
A Holland Reads, November 12
Simple Harvest Reads, November 12
Beck To Basics, November 13
Carpe Diem, November 13
Christian Bookaholic, November 14
Blossoms and BlessingsNovember 14
Baker Kella, November 16
Quiet Quilter, November 16
Karen Sue Hadley, November 16
Pause for Tales, November 17
Pursuing StacieNovember 17
For The Love of Books, November 18
Blogging With CarolNovember 18
Bigreadersite, November 19
Vicky Sluiter, November 19
SusanLovesBooks, November 19
Moments Dipped in Ink, November 20
New Horizon Reviews, November 20
Jeanette’s Thoughts, November 22
Daysong ReflectionsNovember 22
Splashes of JoyNovember 22

Saturday, November 4, 2017

A Dangerous Legacy Review!

A Dangerous Legacy by Elizabeth Camden


Book Description:
34020181

Lucy is determined to keep working as a telegraph operator at a news agency, even though the arrival of Sir Colin Beckwith threatens her position. When she discovers Colin's shocking secret, she agrees to assist him if he helps her find her family's stolen inheritance--not realizing that the trail leads into a web of treachery, danger, and conspiracy.






My Opinion:
I liked pieces.  The first 100 pages of this book are REALLY good to me, but it was in the next 100 that I started coming across things that just weren't personally to my liking.  The story isn't what I expected from the book description, and I found I didn't particularly like Colin, the male lead.  Because of this there were pieces I skimmed and pieces I skipped all together.  I found when I did this I enjoyed reading the other pieces much more.  Personally for me Nick and Lucy together were what was really good about the book!  It was their scenes, especially the scenes when they were together, that I devoured and truly enjoyed.  Though I do wish there had been more prayer throughout.  And there were some things that made me wonder why they were added to the story and then somethings that I wish hadn't been added at all.  The whole plot base is interesting and the historical detail is lovely.  Overall I'm torn with this one, and in the end it's personally not my cup of tea. 
Songs: "Greater Is He" by Blanca
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Dangerous Legacy. ~ASC

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

12 Days at Bleakly Manor Review!!!!!!!

12 Days at Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep


Book Description:
33554888When CLARA CHAPMAN receives an intriguing invitation to spend Christmas at an English manor home, she is hesitant yet compelled to attend—for if she remains the duration of the twelve-day celebration, she is promised a sum of one thousand pounds. That’s enough money to bring her brother back from America and reinstate their stolen family fortune. But is she walking into danger? It appears so, especially when she comes face to face with one of the other guests—her former fiancĂ©, BENJAMIN LANE.

Imprisoned unjustly, Ben wants revenge on whoever stole his honor. When he’s given the chance to gain his freedom, he jumps at it—and is faced with the anger of the woman he stood up at the altar.

Brought together under mysterious circumstances for the Twelve Days of Christmas, Clara and Ben discover that what they've been striving for isn't what ultimately matters. What matters most is what Christmas is all about . . . love.


My Opinion:
I LOVE THIS BOOK!  I am a complete Michelle Griep fan!  And this book is just the thing for CHRISTmas! :)  I am SO excited and happy that this is just the first in a series, because I can't wait for more!!!!  Filled with Faith, romance, and a mystery!  I LOVED all the little twists and turns along the way and all of the quirky characters!  I laughed while reading humorous pieces and still days after reading the final sentence I think of something that makes me chuckle!  I want to read it all over again!  The pace is fantastic and this plot is so unique!  Plus I truly enjoyed all of the historical details woven in!  A MUST READ!

Songs: "Twelve Days of CHRISTmas"
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11

~ASC

*I received this book from Barbour for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about 12 Days at Bleakly Manor. ~ASC

Monday, October 23, 2017

The Dishonorable Miss Delancey Review!!!!!!!

The Dishonorable Miss Delancey 
by Carolyn Miller

Book Description:
34154360Will a damaged reputation and desire for society's approval thwart the legacy of grace? 
Tainted by scandal and forced to leave London for the quieter Brighton countryside, the Honorable Miss Clara DeLancey is a shadow of her former society self. She's lost the man she loved to another and, in a culture that has no patience for self-pity, is struggling with depression. A chance encounter brings her a healing friendship with the sisters of an injured naval captain. But Clara's society mama is appalled at the new company she's keeping. 
Captain Benjamin Kemsley is not looking for a wife. But his gallant spirit won't let him ignore the penniless viscount's daughter--not when she so obviously needs assistance to keep moving forward from day to day. Can he protect his heart and still keep her safe? 
When they're pushed into the highest echelons of society at the Prince Regent's Brighton Pavilion, this mismatched couple must decide if family honor is more important than their hopes. Can they right the wrongs of the past and find future happiness together--without finances, family support, or royal favor? 


My Opinion:
Nice ending.  I've loved this series from the start!  And even though I didn't devour this one quit as quickly as the previous two, that had nothing to do with Clara Delancey being the main character.  On the contrary I felt that Carolyn started leading me to feel sympathy for Clara in the last book, since I felt she was a victim of a manipulative mothers as much as Nicholas.  But if your sympathy string was not affected by the last book like mine was, Carolyn makes sure it gets a great big tug from the very beginning!  I love how she just throws you into the story in the beginning.  And while I loved all the characters, old and new, the reason I didn't devour this story like the last is due to me feeling the pace has lulls this time.  But the end of the story picks up with the action and then I love how Carolyn wraps up the ending.  I was SO happy that my favorite characters, the Hawkesburys, returned.  While I enjoyed all the hero characters in this series I've always loved Nicholas the most! ;)  This is a redemption story through and through however, and I LOVE all of the faith scenes (though personally I wish Clara had done somethings differently towards the end of the book).  But fans of this series are not going to be disappointed with this final addition!  Faith, adventure, romance, and so much more await and it's all wrapped up in an absolutely GORGEOUS cover! :)  Overall this is a nice ending, leading into new beginnings!

Oh yeah and if, like me, your saddened by this being the last book, we don't have to be to biblio-depressed!  Carolyn's new series is due in Spring of 2018!!! :D  And dare we hope to see our favorite characters again and again along with meeting new ones along the way?  Now I know next spring is quite a while to wait, but I've got a feeling the wait will be more than worth it! ;)
Songs: "Broken Things" by Matthew West, "Mercy is a Song" by Matthew West "Forgiveness" by Matthew West (can you tell he's my favorite musical artist?) and "Different" by Micah Tyler
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Psalm 57, Proverbs 3:6 

~ASC


*I requested and received this book from Kregel for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The Dishonorable Miss Delancey. ~ASC

Guest Post Book Announcement by Miranda Atchley

Hello, and welcome to the Of Things To Come blog tour! We’re celebrating the release of the third book in The Abi Hensley Series, which releases on October 27, 2017. Read further to find out more about the book and the giveaway.


About The Book:

After enduring the First World War, most of the world is hoping to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives and move forward in the year 1919. Yet for Abi Hensley the happiness she felt upon the end of the war has been short lived. Grief stricken from the passing of a dear friend, she cannot seem to overcome the loss. Amidst her grief, she is also struggling with her writing, something that has always been a comfort to her. In light of these circumstances, she finds herself questioning many things in her life for the first time.

Can Abi get back to all that she loves and look forward to things to come?



About The Author:
Miranda Atchley loves books of all sorts, but has always had a special place in her heart for historical fiction. Writing is her favorite thing to do and she has published three historical novels and three contemporary young adult novels. Her novel A Castle in the Sky was a finalist for Read Free.ly’s The 50 Best Indie Books of 2016. She also writes the blog A Real Writer’s Life. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find Miranda with her head in a book, taking a walk, or watching Downton Abbey at her home in Arkansas.




Find Miranda at:


Giveaway:
Three winners will each receive a Kindle download of the book Of Things To Come. The giveaway begins October 20 and ends October 28.
The giveaway is open internationally.
Must be 18 or older to enter.



The Abi Hensley Series
Want to read the first two books in The Abi Hensley Series?
Just click here!



Blog Tour Dates

10/20 Amber at Seasons of Humility
10/21 Julie at My Favorite Pastime
10/22 Grace at She Hearts Fiction
10/23 Amada at ASC Book Reviews



Thank you for stopping by and showing your support for Of Things To Come!





Disclaimer: I have not read Of Tings To Come therefore I can't give my thoughts or feelings about it's content. ~ASC

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...