Search This Blog

Statcounter




Saturday, January 13, 2018

Death at Thorburn Hall Review!!!

Death at Thorburn Hall by Julianna Deering

Book Description:
34020179Drew Farthering finds a new mystery on his hands when he arrives at Thorburn Hall in Scotland for the 1935 British Open. His host, Lord Rainsby, asks Drew to investigate a suspected embezzler--then dies in a suspicious accident the next day. However, the house is full of guests with potential motives. Can Drew discover the killer among them?







My Opinion:
A good read!  I really enjoyed this Drew Farthering mystery, it being the second I've read in the series.  Though I did find it's pace a little slower in the beginning, and I was a little sad at who ends up being the baddie.  I really liked the person and didn't want them to be the baddie!  There was also a touch of confusion as I was reading along.  I thought at first I had missed something when a clue was brought up, but as I went back and searched through what I had read before I couldn't find any pre-mention of the clue. :/  I did enjoy all of the characters though and I LOVE that Nick and Carrie are included in the cast!  Plus I absolutely love Drew and Madeline!  We also learn even more about Drew's past!  And top all of that with a Scottish setting! <3  Reading these later books leaves me chomping at the bit to read the ones before it, and also leaves me longing for more!  I hope to see Drew, Madeline, and their friends and relatives again in more books soon! ;)
 
Songs: "Whom Shall I Fear" by Chris Tomlin, "Amazing Grace" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Proverbs 13:24

~ASC

*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Death at Thorburn Hall. ~ASC

Monday, January 1, 2018

HAPPY NEW YEAR AND Looking Ahead! :)

Happy NEW Year EVERYONE!!!! :)

"Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new."

2 Corinthians 5:17

I'm not a resolution maker.  I never have been.  But I read one of the author's I follow, who doesn't do resolutions either, newsletters.  And she said that she likes to choose a word to focus on throughout the year.  That sounded really interesting to me and I thought I'd give it a try! :)

So I've chosen "Trust" as my word this year.
Trust: Firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

It's no secret, although you may not know this about me, but I've got some serious trust issues.  Due to things in my past I just don't trust easily.
But as a CHRISTian I'm growing, and so to grow in my faith this year I'm going to focus on Trusting The One that is the most Trustworthy and will NEVER let me down.  2017 was a particularly hard year and I was struggling pretty hard here at the end.  But Faith and Trust in God go hand in hand.
So if, like me, you are not big on resolution making, but you want to try something new, maybe picking a word is the right fit for you to :)

Anyhow I thought I'd share the books I'm looking forward to in 2018
WARNING though it's a pretty LOOOOOOONG list! ;)

In no particular order:
A Tale of Two Hearts (Once Upon a Dickens Christmas #2) by Michelle Griep
The cover's not out yet but I CAN NOT WAIT for this book! :D  I LOVED the first in this series and it made my Top of 2017 List!

The Lost Castle by +Kristy Cambron 
I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK!
Kristy is such a story weaver!  I truly enjoyed her Ringmaster's Wife and this book description and book cover just spark my heart and imagination!
35554148

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green
My family and I REALLY love The Musketeers series from BBC and so after understanding more about French terms and hierarchy I can't WAIT to read this most intriguing read!
35069159


The Lacemaker by +Laura Frantz
Isn't it kinda stunning how close the cover above matches this gorgeous cover?
I've enjoyed Laura's works in the past and found this book description and cover to be captivation.
35069201

Treacherous Trails (Gold Country Cowboys #2) by Dana Mentink
I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK!  I'm SO excited after reading and loving the first in the series!  Dana had me hooked with her humorous romances, but not she got me hooked with her Suspense as well!  She just plain ol' got me HOOKED! :D
35584116

Until We Find Home by Cathy Gohlke
I haven't read any of Cathy's books yet and this book description sound so unique and intriguing I'm anxious to make this one my first!
Hopefully Christianbook will be shipping it to me SOON! :D
35755915

In Places Hidden (Golden Gate Secrets #1) by Tracie Peterson
This one has made this list for a few reasons:
1 I know anything from Tracie is going to be an entertaining read
2 I absolutely adore that cover!
and 3 it mentions CHOCOLATE! :D
35086269

All My Tomorrows: Three Historical Romance Novellas of Everlasting Love  by Karen Witemeyer, Jody Hedlund, Elizabeth Camden
Me and ebooks DO NOT get along and so I was SO excited to find Karen's novella in this collection
35034359

Winning Miss Winthrop by +Carolyn Miller
I LOVED Carolyn's last series and an SO excited for her next one!  I'm also hoping to read more about my past favorites! ;)
36809331

The Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2) by Kathleen Y'Barbo
Why do I want to read this one?  Come on it's got Pirates!35658894

The Accidental Guardian (High Sierra Sweethearts #1) by Mary Connealy
What an intriguing book description and Mary is another one of the authors on my "No matter what it will be an entertaining read" list! ;)
P.S. WHAT AN ADORABLE COVER
35086271

The Captured Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #3) by Michelle Griep
Michelle Griep.......Need I say more? ;)
36040947

All for Love: Three Historical Romance Novellas of Love and Laughter by Mary Connealy, +Kristi Ann Hunter, Jen Turano
I LOVE ALL OF THESE AUTHORS and as I stated before ebook and I don't mix so I'm excited to get the chance to read these novellas! :)
THANK YOU BETHANY HOUSE
36536758

The Orphan's Wish (Hagenheim #8) by +Melanie Dickerson
I thought that the Hangengeim series was finished (major biblio-bummed), so imagine my excitement when I found out Melanie's got not just one but at least TWO MORE COMING! :D  WOO HOO! 
35229027

Sons of Blackbird Mountain (Blackbird Mountain #1) by Joanne Bischof
This sounds SO GOOD TO ME! :D  I've enjoyed Appalachia reads before so I can't wait for this one!  Gotta say I LOVE that cover to! 
36576080

Caught by Surprise (Apart from the Crowd #3) by Jen Turano
Any of my readers would know that Jen HAD to be on this list [and are not surprised it's multiple times ;) ]!
She is ALWAYS on my MUST READ list and I am absolutely in love with this series!  So my list would be totally incomplete with out this one!
36536759

And finally.......
A Rumored Fortune by Joanna Davidson Politano
THIS SOUNDS FANTASTIC!  What a plot!
36394907

Happy READING! :)

Sunday, December 31, 2017

HAPPY NEW YEARS EVE Here's The Best of 2017 in my opinion! ;)

Happy New Years Eve everyone!  I don't know about you but I'm happy to see this year come to an end.  We had quite a bit of sorrow this year, but through it all God has also been VERY Faithful!

Deuteronomy 7:9 says
"Know therefore that the Lord thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations;"

and 

Hebrews 10:23 says
"Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;)"

Both of these verses are just a couple giving me hope and strength right now!  I'm hoping that this coming year is a better one than the one we are finishing! :)  And I also hope that you all have a safe and blessed celebration!

There were some pretty good reads published in 2017
These are my Top Picks in no particular order

This book was SO good!  The mystery was twisty and there was just enough suspense.  Dana's descriptions are so good I got a little claustrophobic while reading about being in the mine!
34889582


This series is really great to me!  I LOVE the concept and this one was just so entertaining and sweet.  It's a really great read!
32510778

I LOVE Jen's books and this one is NO exception this whole series' concept is gold to me!  I laughed SO hard while reading this story!  I could read it again and again and I LOVE LOVE LOVE all of the unique and quirky characters!
30259039

I think I may have actually squealed when I realized this was just the first in a series!  And I'm not a squealer! ;)  I LOVE Michelle's books and this first book is amazing!  Beautifully filled with historical detail and quirky characters!  This is another read that's got it all!  Humor, mystery, suspense, and of coarse romance!
33554888

There are not enough words to express how much I LOVE this book!  I'm a huge Pride and Prejudice fan and Carolyn took Jane's book and made it EVEN BETTER!!!!
30851451

Once again this series is just fantastic!  I was reading this book while going through the hardest loss of this year and it was a Godsend to have such a humorous book and capturing story to lift my spirits even when they didn't want to be lifted.
34020175

I think this book will forever have a special place in my heart!  I'm late to the Drew Farthering mysteries and so this was my first!  I've always been a fan of the Moors ever since I followed Heathcliffe and Catherine through them! :)  Plus take into account the Sherlock Holmes style to this story and a mystery that was filled with twists and.......how could I not love this book!?
30259043

These Healing Hills by +Ann H Gabhart
This book kinda snuck up on my heart!  I thought the book description sounded interesting when I got this book and I knew it would be a good read.  But I was not prepared for just how AMAZING this book truly is!!!!  And on a side note WHAT A GORGEOUS COVER!!!
34020270

I enjoyed this book for many reasons!  One being that it brought back ALL of my favorite characters from the first book!  And two because it was a fantastic story in and of itself!  There was a touch of mystery in this one and it blew my mind at time! :)
P.S. also LOVE this cover!
32572319

Saturday, December 30, 2017

A Mother for His Family Review!!!!!!!

A Mother for His Family by Susanne Dietze


Book Description:
35140583
A Convenient Arrangement

Lady Helena Stanhope’s reputation is in tatters…and she’s lost any hope for a “respectable” ton marriage. An arranged union is the only solution. But once Helena weds formidable Scottish widower John Gordon, Lord Ardoch, and encounters his four mischievous children, she’s determined to help her new, ever-surprising family. Even if she’s sure love is too much to ask for.

All John needs is someone to mother his admittedly unruly brood. He never imagined that beautiful Lady Helena would be a woman of irresistible spirit, caring and warmth. Or that facing down their pasts would give them so much in common. Now, as danger threatens, John will do whatever it takes to convince Helena their future together—and his love—are for always.


My Opinion:
WOW!  What a good read!  It has humor, mystery, a touch of suspense!  I also love how Susanne always adds animals!  The pace of the story is lovely!  It unfolds steadily and beautifully.  I loved the kids even when they're quite ornery! ;)  I haven't had the pleasure of reading the book before this one [YET! ;) ], but I REALLY want to after meeting those characters in this book!  From the very beginning Susanne GRABS you and draws you into Helena's story!  My heart ached for her as we learn about what has brought her to this point in her life.  And I couldn't help but love John from the beginning even though he's wrong more than right at the start! ;)  There are some shocking twists and turns, and the ending is fantastic!  I HIGHLY recommend A Mother for His Family and think it is the best way to start your 2018 reading! :)

Songs: "Broken Things" by Matthew West, "Amazing Grace", "Standing on the Promises" performed by Alan Jackson, "Rescuer" by Rend Collective
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

John 16:33, John 3:16, 1 John 4:4

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about A Mother for His Family. ~ASC

Monday, December 25, 2017

Merry CHRISTmas!!!!


Merry CHRISTmas!
May you all have a
safe, warm, and
Blessed CHRISTmas!
In Him!
~ASC

Monday, December 18, 2017

Out of the Ordinary REVIEW!!!!!!!

Out of the Ordinary by Jen Turano

Book Description:
34020175When shipping magnate Harrison Sinclair's mother catches Gertrude Cadwalader, paid companion to the light-fingered Mrs. Davenport, returning a pilfered item, she comes to the wrong conclusion. However, Harrison is eager to mend fences once he realizes the error. After a real thief starts preying on society, can Gertrude and Harrison catch the culprit?







My Opinion:
LOVE THIS BOOK!  It's hard for me to say that I have a favorite of all these characters, since I absolutely love them all.  But Gertrude and Harrison have a very special place in my heart!  Harrison with his color blindness and heart of gold and Gertie with her selfless kindness, plus throw back in all of my favorite characters from the first book, including quirky Mrs. Davenport, and the fabulously entertaining Huxley sisters, and you've got a fantastic read!  AND there's new characters to love to boot!  Harrison's sisters are so uniquely entertaining they are, in my humble opinion, clamoring for their own stories! ;)  Temperance also is seen emerging into a whole new character as the pages turn, leaving me in sweet anticipation for the third in this lovely series!  Jen wraps everything up nicely with all of her characters, which I was SO happy about!  I love the Faith messages, Love the touches of mystery, and OH THE HUMOR!  I laughed SO hard it hurt!  Truly I almost fell out of bed!  There are SO many things I can tell you about this book, but since I don't want to give anything away I'll only say that I HIGHLY recommend Out of the Ordinary and dub it a MUST READ!  Jen has done it again!
Songs: "Forgiven" by Sanctus Real
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

John 8:10-11, Luke 7:48

~ASC

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Out of the Ordinary. ~ASC

Thursday, November 23, 2017

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!


Late last year we were GREATLY Blessed with gaining some bunnies!  
This is one from one of our first litters this year!
I nick named her Diva ;)
HAPPY THANKSGIVING 
From ASC Book Reviews a.k.a Heaven Sent Hares!

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian Review and GIVEAWAY!!!!

Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian by Dana Mentink

Book Description:
34889582
Someone is dead set on stopping Shelby Arroyo from doing her job: assessing mineral rights in a mine in gold country. But after rancher Barrett Thorn rescues her from an attack, the handsome widowed cowboy seems to feel responsible for her. That is, until he discovers she's from the family that he'll never forgive for his wife's death. As the threats against Shelby escalate, cowboy honor and an unexpected attraction keep Barrett by her side, even at his own risk. And since Shelby won't back down, Barrett must protect the brave, loyal woman he has no business falling for…a woman someone wants to kill by Christmas.

My Opinion:
LOVE IT!!!!!  Just WOW!  This book is SO twisty and good!  You think you know who done what, and then Dana just BLOWS you out of the water! LOL!  I've read Dana's sweet and funny romances before (and loved them), but had yet to read one of her Suspense books.  Well let me tell you, I will be reading more suspense in the future!  I just love the flow of Dana's writing.  The story is paced well, and while the scenes in the mine made me a little nervous, I still think her descriptions are FANTASTIC! ;)  I LOVE this family and can't wait for the rest of this series!  If you're looking for a tricky mystery, sweet romance, deep forgiveness, and more, this book is for you!  I HIGHLY recommend and it will make a GREAT CHRISTmas present! ;)


Songs: "Forgiveness" Matthew West, "Joy to the World", "Silent Night" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Romans 8:28

~ASC

*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Cowboy CHRISTmas Guardian. ~ASC

About the Author:

dana mentink
Dana Mentink is a two time American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award winner, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award and a Holt Medallion winner. She is a national bestselling author of over thirty-five titles in the suspense and lighthearted romance genres. She is pleased to write for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense, Harlequin Heartwarming and Harvest House. Besides writing, she busies herself teaching third grade. Mostly, she loves to be home with Papa Bear, Yogi, Boo Boo, a nutty terrier, a chubby box turtle and a feisty parakeet.

Giveaway

image2


Guest Post from Dana Mentink

Howdy, readers! I am thrilled to be bringing you this four book Gold Country Cowboys series that takes place in an area near and dear to my heart! My family and I have enjoyed many adventures in this amazing area, from exploring gold mines, to climbing through caverns, and soaking in the incredible history. As a matter of fact, we recently enjoyed a train trip on the historic V and T Railroad which took us past abandoned mines and even some active ones where people are engaged in modern day treasure hunting. California’s Gold Country is a fascinating place filled with secret treasures. I hope you will enjoy some wild adventures with four cowboy brothers who have some secrets of their own. God bless you all!

Blog Stops

Cordially Barbara, November 16
Genesis 5020, November 16
Have A Wonderful Day, November 17
A Greater Yes, November 17
ASC Book Reviews, November 18
Splashes of Joy, November 18
Red Headed Book Lady, November 19
Remembrancy, November 19
Autism mom, November 20
Janices book reviews, November 21
Moments Dipped in Ink, November 22
New Horizon Reviews, November 23
Pause for Tales, November 24
Ashley’s Bookshelf, November 24
Cafinated Reads, November 25
Blogging With Carol, November 26
Daysong Reflections, November 26
Carpe Diem, November 27
Karen Sue Hadley, November 27
Babs Book Bistro, November 28
Bibliophile Reviews, November 28
The Power of Words, November 29

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The CHIRSTmas Admirer Review and GIVEAWAY!!!

The CHRISTmas Admirer by Laura V. Hilton

Book Description:
34746408
Benaiah Troyer has loved Susanna King for as long as he can remember, but when his parents died in an accident a year ago, he broke up with her—for her own good. After all, he was now the sole caregiver for his three younger sisters. What woman would want to put up with that? Still, against his better judgment, he can’t help leaving her a gift now and then, anonymously addressing her name in big block print, just to catch a smile. Roses one month, maple syrup candy another; and maybe this time, something special for Christmas.

Susanna has never gotten over losing Benaiah, but now the clock is ticking. Her father is selling his glass-blowing business, remarrying in January, and moving to Iowa with his bossy wife-to-be. Angry and frustrated, Susanna realizes she’s left with three options: one, go with Daed to his new home with a new mom; two, stay in Jamesport, Missouri, as an old maid; or, three, the best yet, flush out her mysterious secret admirer. But how could she be with anyone else when her heart is still with Benaiah?


About the Author:

Laura Hilton
Amish fiction lovers responded positively and immediately to Laura V. Hilton’s debut novel, Patchwork Dreams, when she burst on the scene in 2009 with her unique series, The Amish of Seymour, set in the tiny town of Seymour, in Webster County, Missouri. Fans of the genre immediately recognized Hilton’s insider knowledge, not only of the Webster County community, but Amish culture in general. Her natural speech and writing patterns, she says, are uniquely “Amish,” acquired from her Amish maternal grandparents. The Amish of Seymour, includes Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another. Her second series, The Amish of Webster County, is comprised of Healing Love, Surrendered Love, and Awakened Love. A stand-alone title, A White Christmas in Webster County, was released in September 2014. The Amish of Jamesport includes The Snow Globe, The Postcard and The Birdhouse. In spring 2016 she released The Amish Firefighter with the setting in Jamesport, MO, the same as for The Amish Wanderer.

Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and a professional book reviewer. Laura and her husband, Steve, have five children, whom Laura homeschools. The family makes their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas.
My Opinion:
Sort of a Cinderella story.  This is my first Laura V Hilton book.  And there are things that I like and things that aren't for me.  The pace seemed to be both flow nicely and still be drawn out.  Maybe it was just that I wanted the plot to not be quite so drawn out.  I enjoyed the characters but like Susanna, Benaiah's back and forth frustrated me!  I also felt REALLY bad for Susanna as I think some of the other characters treated her horridly, and towards the end I REALLY got frustrated and had to stop reading every now and then for the sake of my blood pressure :/ .  I LOVE the idea of the secret admirer gifts and enjoyed reading what they were! LOL!  Plus Ben's family is GREAT, and the Faith messages surrounding him are fantastic!  I also LOVED that we start the story before Thanksgiving and head into CHRISTmas!  One thing that bothered me a lot when I was reading had nothing to do with the story itself; the typos are so many that it makes it a little hard to read.  Overall I think this is a sweet story for this Holiday season!   
 
Songs: "Oh, Me of Little Faith" by Matthew West, "Silent Night", "O Holy Night" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

2 Samuel 23:20Psalm 91:11Psalm 91:13

~ASC

*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The CHRISTmas Admirer. ~ASC


GIVEAWAY:
In honor of her tour, Laura is giving away
Grand Prize Package: The Christmas Admirer, “Unto Us a Child is Born” painting on decorative serving plate by Donna White, The Hearthside Collection, Inc., and commemorative Whitaker House/Anchor Distributors coloring book (not in photo).
1st Place Package: The Christmas Admirer and The Very First Christmas by Juliet David with interactive illustrations by Pauline Siewert (children’s book). 2nd Place Package: The Christmas Admirer and “The Woman Who Honors The Lord Shall Be Praised” myrrh-scented candle from abba Jerusalem!



Blog Stops

ASC Book Reviews, November 9
Books n Baubles, November 9
Janices book review, November 9
Have A Wonderful Day, November 10
A Greater Yes, November 10
D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, November 11
A Holland Reads, November 12
Simple Harvest Reads, November 12
Beck To Basics, November 13
Carpe Diem, November 13
Christian Bookaholic, November 14
Blossoms and BlessingsNovember 14
Baker Kella, November 16
Quiet Quilter, November 16
Karen Sue Hadley, November 16
Pause for Tales, November 17
Pursuing StacieNovember 17
For The Love of Books, November 18
Blogging With CarolNovember 18
Bigreadersite, November 19
Vicky Sluiter, November 19
SusanLovesBooks, November 19
Moments Dipped in Ink, November 20
New Horizon Reviews, November 20
Jeanette’s Thoughts, November 22
Daysong ReflectionsNovember 22
Splashes of JoyNovember 22

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...