Search This Blog


Saturday, March 17, 2018


He was an amazing Christian man!  A Scotsman kidnapped by the Irish then once released he felt God calling him to leave Scotland and return to Ireland and tell them all about Jesus!

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Treacherous Trails Review!!!!!!!

Treacherous Trails by Dana Mentink

Book Description:
35584116Falsely accused… 

Can she escape the real killer? 

In this Gold Country Cowboys story, farrier Ella Cahill is accused of murder—and only former marine Owen Thorn, her brother's best friend, can help clear her name. Now with someone trying to kill Ella, Owen must protect her…despite his promise to her brother to stay away from her. But can they work together to find the true killer before she becomes the next to die?

My Opinion:
WHAT A BOOK! I LOVED THIS STORY!  And I must say I am LOVING this series!  I can't WAIT for the next book! :D  I really enjoyed meeting these two main characters in the last book and I was looking forward to Owen's turn!  And let me say that Dana did not disappoint!!!!  This one is also totally different in style of mystery and plot which I also truly LOVED, because when a sequel just repeats the original it's not good.  But with completely different situations in this one I think I loved it even more than the first (and I will also say, without giving too much away, that I usually don't like this style of mystery, but still ABSOLUTELY LOVED this one!)!  The character's backgrounds are highly interesting to me.  Two people that have overcome their pasts and continue to overcome obstacles in their present as they come together to survive!  Add in just enough suspense and intrigue and you've got a recipe for a highly entertaining read!  I HIGHLY recommend this one and truly can't wait for the next two brother's to get their stories!     

Songs: "Jesus I Believe" by Big Daddy Weave, "All My Hope (feat. Tauren Wells)" by Crowder, "Control (Somehow You Want Me)" by Tenth Avenue North, "Miracle" by Unspoken,
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11, Isaiah 41:10


*I received this book from the author for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Treacherous Trails. ~ASC

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Phoebe's Light Review!!!!!!!

Phoebe's Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Book Description:
35086518Phoebe Starbuck has always adjusted her sails and rudder to the whims of her father. Now, for the first time, she's doing what she wants to do: marrying Captain Phineas Foulger and sailing far away from Nantucket. As she leaves on her grand adventure, her father gives her two gifts, both of which Phoebe sees little need for. The first is an old sheepskin journal from Great Mary, her highly revered great-grandmother. The other is a "minder" on the whaling ship in the form of cooper Matthew Mitchell, a man whom she loathes.

Soon Phoebe discovers that life at sea is no easier than life on land. Lonely, seasick, and disillusioned, she turns the pages of Great Mary's journal and finds herself drawn into the life of this noble woman. To Phoebe's shock, her great-grandmother has left a secret behind that carries repercussions for everyone aboard the ship, especially her husband the captain and her shadow the cooper. This story within a story catapults Phoebe into seeing her life in an entirely new way--just in time.

About the Author:
Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Anna’s CrossingThe Newcomer, and The Return in the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop’s Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

My Opinion:
I LOVED THIS BOOK!  WOW what a read!  I loved the characters right off.  Usually I want the book to start right where the book description describes and I don't want a lot of lead in or set up to get there, but even though the back's description doesn't take place until further into the story I didn't mind at all.  In fact I truly enjoyed getting to know the characters and their motives on a deeper level in this way!  I loved both the past and the present stories and how they weave together so beautifully!  As well as all of the historical details, the new things I learned about the Quakers, and the fantastic Faith messages!  Plus the fact that this book has a little bit of everything, including a wrap up and a cliff hanger! :D  I could read it all again and a again!  And I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!!!!  This is a Must Read!

Songs: "God Shaped Hole" by Plumb, "Jesus I Believe" by Big Daddy Weave, and "God Help Me" by Plumb
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Mark 9:23-25, John 1:9


*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Phoebe's Light. ~ASC


Blog Stops

Aryn The LibraryanFebruary 15
With a Joyful Noise, February 16
D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, February 16
A Greater Yes, February 16
ASC Book Reviews, February 17
Locks, Hooks and BooksFebruary 17
Book by Book, February 17
Texas Book-aholic, February 18
The Power of Words, February 18
Splashes of JoyFebruary 18
A Reader’s Brain, February 19
Karen Sue Hadley, February 19
Blossoms and BlessingsFebruary 19
All of a kind Mom, February 20
Baker Kella, February 21
Mommynificent, February 21
Janices book reviews, February 21
Lighthouse Academy, February 22
Readers cozy corner, February 22
Mary Hake, February 22
Jeanette’s Thoughts, February 22
Pause for Tales, February 23
Have A Wonderful Day, February 23
Faery Tales Are Real, February 23
Blogging With Carol, February 24
Among the Reads, February 24
Carpe Diem, February 24
Red Headed Book Lady, February 25
Just the Write Escape, February 25
By The Book, February 26
For The Love of Books, February 26
Margaret Kazmierczak, February 26
Simple Harvest Reads, February 26 (Guest post from Mindy)
Maureen’s Musings, February 27
Bigreadersite, February 27
Bibliophile Reviews, February 28
Pursuing Stacie, February 28

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Way of the Raven Review!

Way of the Raven by Jackie Zack

Book Description:
35784126Two Converging Paths… 
NYC editor David Wappelhorst has everything going for him except what he’s wanted in life. Concerned he’s waited too long to pursue his dream of writing a bestseller, he ditches his
 prestigious career and relocates to his hometown. 
After witnessing a murder and given a new identity, Megan Summers finds herself in a Podunk Pennsylvanian town far away from family. Stunned with grief, she wonders if it’s possible to rebuild her life. A nearby abandoned brick house with a grim history lends more unease to her situation. Has she escaped one deadly past to live in the shadow of another? 
David is intrigued by crossing Megan’s path. Why does she seem familiar? And by meeting her has his desire turned tragically unattainable?

My Opinion:
An interesting read.  There were times when I wasn't so sure about this read.  There are moments that are dark and kinda creepy, but only a couple of times.  Personally I also found myself wanting more mention of The Lord, Bible verses, and prayer.  But when Faith is mentioned I really enjoyed it and there were times I really liked this book.  The characters are will developed and the very likable.  The plot is unique and entertaining.  There were sometimes I wondered were the story was going, and there are still somethings that I'm not quite sure I got.  :/  Plus a few things that didn't get fully explained.  Overall I felt this was a quirky read, but I loved the characters and the ending! 

Songs: "Miracle" by Unspoken, "Amazing Grace", 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Jeremiah 29:11


*I received this book for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Way of the Raven. ~ASC

Friday, January 26, 2018

Their Daring Hearts Review!

Their Daring Hearts by Sharlene MacLaren

Book Description:
Levi Albright rebelled against his Quaker roots to fight for abolition in the Union army in the first year of the Civil War. Two years later, 19-year-old destitute orphan Josephine Winters, with chopped hair, boy’s clothes, and new name, “Snipp,” enlists in the Union army out of sheer desperation. 
Just ove
r five feet tall and barely weighing as much as a newborn calf, Snipp seems to Levi to be barely old enough to hold "his" gun. But despite being teased by the regiment, Snipp quickly earns admiration for skill with a musket and unequaled bravery. When Levi explains one night that he is a Quaker leading a regiment, it leads to a late-night discussion of faith and a developing friendship.
But Snipp’s secret can only be hidden for so long. After an injury forces Josie to reveal her real identity, Levi is angered by her deception. Worse, Josie is marched out of the company without a chance to explain—or even say goodbye. Will their friendship survive? Or will the hatred saturating the war-torn nation affect even the heart of a peace-loving Quaker?

My Opinion:
An interesting read!  Though not necessarily one I devoured.  This is my first read from Sharlene.  And I really enjoyed her style of writing.  One thing the book description doesn't say, and I personally think it should, is that there's a hidden traitor in this story.  And right when I started feeling like the pace of the story was starting to lull Sharlene would throw another crumb in about the mystery!  It was nice since my intrigue was once again spiked and I'd want to go on!  I also liked learning more about the Quakers!  There were some interesting things I hadn't known before!  I have known about and heard about women disguising themselves and joining the army in the civil war, but hadn't read a book with the main character doing just that.  It was really interesting with all the details included about what Josephine had to go through!  I really LOVED the Faith messages in this story!  Both main characters have VERY strong relationships with The Lord and I loved that!  Plus this story does have a little of everything in that, there's redemption stories, secrets revealed, mysteries solved, healing, romance, and more!  Overall this was a sweet read that I enjoyed!     

Songs: "Battle Hymn of the Republic"
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Deuteronomy 31:6. Philippians 4:6, Romans 3:23, Psalm 4:8, Luke 4:10, Psalm 91:11, Psalm 46


*I requested and received this book as a member of Celebrate Lit for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Their Daring Hearts. ~ASC


About the Author

SharHS552x784Born and raised in western Michigan, Sharlene MacLaren graduated from Spring Arbor University then traveled nationally with a contemporary Christian vocal ensemble. She married Cecil, with whom she’d grown up in Spring Arbor, and the couple had two daughters. Shar embarked on a teaching career that would span over 30 years. As she contemplated retirement, Shar sought God’s guidance, praying for a vocation that would provide the kind of fulfillment and joy she experienced as a teacher and mother. A lifelong gifted story teller, she began to write Christian romance novels. Her first book, Through Every Storm, published in 2007, was met with critical acclaim and brisk sales. The rest, as they say, is history. Whitaker House’s bestselling fiction author, she’s subsequently published 18 books, mostly historical romances. Shar enjoys reading, singing in her church choir and worship team, traveling, and spending time with her husband, children, and grandchildren. She’s very interactive on Facebook and Twitter. For more:, Twitter @ sharzy_lu.

Blog Stops

Genesis 5020, January 25
ASC Book Reviews, January 26
Multifarious, January 26
Remembrancy, January 27
Carpe Diem, January 28
Inklings and notionsJanuary 28
Mary Hake, January 31
Daysong ReflectionsFebruary 1
Pause for Tales, February 2
Cafinated Reads, February 3
Bibliophile Reviews, February 4
My Wrtier’s Life, February 5
Simple Harvest Reads, February 5 (Guest Post from Mindy Houg)
Pursuing StacieFebruary 6
A Greater YesFebruary 6
Texas Book-aholic, February 6
BigreadersiteFebruary 7

Janices book reviewsFebruary 7

Thursday, January 25, 2018

The House on Foster Hill Review!!!!!!!

The House on Foster Hill by Jaime Jo Wright

Book Description:
34020199Kaine Prescott is no stranger to death. When her husband died two years ago, her pleas for further investigation into his suspicious death fell on deaf ears. In desperate need of a fresh start, Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide. 
A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--
including her own--are lost?

My Opinion:
WOW!  Nice first book!  This is a great start to Jamie's writing.  She shows excellent skill and talent with the written word.  Though there are a couple of areas where she can and I fully expect her to improve!  For instance some of the scenes seemed to end abruptly and throw me into something completely new.  The story gets a little dark at times, and I found myself LOVING the past story just a touch more than the present, but you know what a fan I am of historical settings versus modern day. ;)  The Spiritual thread throughout is FANTASTICALLY woven in!  I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the Faith scenes in the story!!!!  Both the past and the present!  The suspense scenes are thrilling!  This was a book I DID NOT WANT TO PUT DOWN!!!  Just when I would tell myself I needed to quit and actually get some sleep something else exciting would happen!!!!  I also loved the format of the chapters.  When you switch time periods the chapter's heading is the name of the character's perspective you're reading from.  I really appreciated this because I new right where I was starting from and could jump right in!  This a heart pounding ride that has excellent endings.  Overall Jamie is one to watch and I can't wait to see what she crafts next!

Songs: "Rescuer" by Rend Collective, "Point To You" by We Are Messengers, "More Than Anything" by Natalie Grant, "Even If" by MercyMe
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Psalm 140:1, Psalm 71:4, Psalm 70:1, Psalm 121:1, Job 6:23, 
Psalm 143:9, Psalm 142:6, Psalm 69:18, Psalm 31:15, Psalm 31:2,
Psalm 18:17, Revelation 21:4


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about The House on Foster Hill. ~ASC

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Death at Thorburn Hall Review!!!

Death at Thorburn Hall by Julianna Deering

Book Description:
34020179Drew Farthering finds a new mystery on his hands when he arrives at Thorburn Hall in Scotland for the 1935 British Open. His host, Lord Rainsby, asks Drew to investigate a suspected embezzler--then dies in a suspicious accident the next day. However, the house is full of guests with potential motives. Can Drew discover the killer among them?

My Opinion:
A good read!  I really enjoyed this Drew Farthering mystery, it being the second I've read in the series.  Though I did find it's pace a little slower in the beginning, and I was a little sad at who ends up being the baddie.  I really liked the person and didn't want them to be the baddie!  There was also a touch of confusion as I was reading along.  I thought at first I had missed something when a clue was brought up, but as I went back and searched through what I had read before I couldn't find any pre-mention of the clue. :/  I did enjoy all of the characters though and I LOVE that Nick and Carrie are included in the cast!  Plus I absolutely love Drew and Madeline!  We also learn even more about Drew's past!  And top all of that with a Scottish setting! <3  Reading these later books leaves me chomping at the bit to read the ones before it, and also leaves me longing for more!  I hope to see Drew, Madeline, and their friends and relatives again in more books soon! ;)
Songs: "Whom Shall I Fear" by Chris Tomlin, "Amazing Grace" 
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC

Proverbs 13:24


*I requested and received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of reviewing it.  This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Death at Thorburn Hall. ~ASC

Monday, January 1, 2018

HAPPY NEW YEAR AND Looking Ahead! :)

Happy NEW Year EVERYONE!!!! :)

"Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new."

2 Corinthians 5:17

I'm not a resolution maker.  I never have been.  But I read one of the author's I follow, who doesn't do resolutions either, newsletters.  And she said that she likes to choose a word to focus on throughout the year.  That sounded really interesting to me and I thought I'd give it a try! :)

So I've chosen "Trust" as my word this year.
Trust: Firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

It's no secret, although you may not know this about me, but I've got some serious trust issues.  Due to things in my past I just don't trust easily.
But as a CHRISTian I'm growing, and so to grow in my faith this year I'm going to focus on Trusting The One that is the most Trustworthy and will NEVER let me down.  2017 was a particularly hard year and I was struggling pretty hard here at the end.  But Faith and Trust in God go hand in hand.
So if, like me, you are not big on resolution making, but you want to try something new, maybe picking a word is the right fit for you to :)

Anyhow I thought I'd share the books I'm looking forward to in 2018
WARNING though it's a pretty LOOOOOOONG list! ;)

In no particular order:
A Tale of Two Hearts (Once Upon a Dickens Christmas #2) by Michelle Griep
The cover's not out yet but I CAN NOT WAIT for this book! :D  I LOVED the first in this series and it made my Top of 2017 List!

The Lost Castle by +Kristy Cambron 
Kristy is such a story weaver!  I truly enjoyed her Ringmaster's Wife and this book description and book cover just spark my heart and imagination!

A Refuge Assured by Jocelyn Green
My family and I REALLY love The Musketeers series from BBC and so after understanding more about French terms and hierarchy I can't WAIT to read this most intriguing read!

The Lacemaker by +Laura Frantz
Isn't it kinda stunning how close the cover above matches this gorgeous cover?
I've enjoyed Laura's works in the past and found this book description and cover to be captivation.

Treacherous Trails (Gold Country Cowboys #2) by Dana Mentink
I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK!  I'm SO excited after reading and loving the first in the series!  Dana had me hooked with her humorous romances, but not she got me hooked with her Suspense as well!  She just plain ol' got me HOOKED! :D

Until We Find Home by Cathy Gohlke
I haven't read any of Cathy's books yet and this book description sound so unique and intriguing I'm anxious to make this one my first!
Hopefully Christianbook will be shipping it to me SOON! :D

In Places Hidden (Golden Gate Secrets #1) by Tracie Peterson
This one has made this list for a few reasons:
1 I know anything from Tracie is going to be an entertaining read
2 I absolutely adore that cover!
and 3 it mentions CHOCOLATE! :D

All My Tomorrows: Three Historical Romance Novellas of Everlasting Love  by Karen Witemeyer, Jody Hedlund, Elizabeth Camden
Me and ebooks DO NOT get along and so I was SO excited to find Karen's novella in this collection

Winning Miss Winthrop by +Carolyn Miller
I LOVED Carolyn's last series and an SO excited for her next one!  I'm also hoping to read more about my past favorites! ;)

The Pirate Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #2) by Kathleen Y'Barbo
Why do I want to read this one?  Come on it's got Pirates!35658894

The Accidental Guardian (High Sierra Sweethearts #1) by Mary Connealy
What an intriguing book description and Mary is another one of the authors on my "No matter what it will be an entertaining read" list! ;)

The Captured Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #3) by Michelle Griep
Michelle Griep.......Need I say more? ;)

All for Love: Three Historical Romance Novellas of Love and Laughter by Mary Connealy, +Kristi Ann Hunter, Jen Turano
I LOVE ALL OF THESE AUTHORS and as I stated before ebook and I don't mix so I'm excited to get the chance to read these novellas! :)

The Orphan's Wish (Hagenheim #8) by +Melanie Dickerson
I thought that the Hangengeim series was finished (major biblio-bummed), so imagine my excitement when I found out Melanie's got not just one but at least TWO MORE COMING! :D  WOO HOO! 

Sons of Blackbird Mountain (Blackbird Mountain #1) by Joanne Bischof
This sounds SO GOOD TO ME! :D  I've enjoyed Appalachia reads before so I can't wait for this one!  Gotta say I LOVE that cover to! 

Caught by Surprise (Apart from the Crowd #3) by Jen Turano
Any of my readers would know that Jen HAD to be on this list [and are not surprised it's multiple times ;) ]!
She is ALWAYS on my MUST READ list and I am absolutely in love with this series!  So my list would be totally incomplete with out this one!

And finally.......
A Rumored Fortune by Joanna Davidson Politano

Happy READING! :)

Featured Post

The Beautiful Pretender Review & GIVEAWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson +Melanie Dickerson Book Description: The Beautiful Pretender (Thomas Nelson, May 2016) W...